Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Trust but Verify FPS multiplayer architecture

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by stash, Dec 17, 2010.

1. stash

stash

I'm a novice programmer. And I'm currently working on a multiplayer Arcanoid-like (Breakout-like) game. I stated with a non-authoritative networking, but when I started using rigidbodies I understood that physics simulation can be ran only on one computer. So I started digging towards the authoritative networking. I successfully implemented it, but without client side prediction, so there was a significant lag between input and response on client. And I started digging towards client side prediction and I've read this two articles: "Networked Physics" by Glenn Fiedler and "Latency Compensating Methods in Client/Server In-game Protocol Design and Optimization" by Bernier, Yahn W (PDF).
    And in the latter article i found an interesting info that military simulation systems usually work with peer-to-peer networking because they are a closed system and they trust all of the clients.

And I've got an idea. Why can't we do a mixed system, partly peer-to-peer and partly client server. Thats how I think it should work (for multiplayer FPS):

1. We've got a server. It runs all physics simulation and do all the math just like in client-server architecture.

2. We've got a client. It calculates movement and weapons-related code directly on the client and it sends to all other clients it's position and weapons related info. And it sends this info to server. But it also sends to server the client's input.