Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

New to Unity - Need help with networking

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by whitejasond, Feb 19, 2008.

1. whitejasond

whitejasond

I'm fairly new to Unity and I have been getting my hands dirty trying to learn how to do some 'basic' networking. I've been trying to get a simple server / multiple client setup working using RPC and I seem to be missing something.

What I would like to do is have a simple dedicated server running - using the RAKNET library (which I know Unity uses) and then have a number of Unity clients connect to this and use RPC to send messages to the server and for the server to send back responses.

I don't need any master server functionality as there will only be one server that all clients connect to.

Can someone point me in the right direction either via documentation or examples?

Thanks in advance...

2. jashan

jashan

Personally, I'd set up the server with Unity, as I would guess that in most cases, you'll have rather significant game logic residing on the server, and the way Unity is handling networking (making extensive Use of NetworkViews) might be tricky to set up only using RAKNET (I don't know that API as "standalone", so I don't know how much of what Unity is using is part of that API).

I could think of a few other good reasons creating your server with Unity, like very nice testing features, sharing code between client and server etc. etc. etc.