Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug [MPPM] Error: found out-of-date assets

Discussion in 'Multiplayer Tools' started by wabugi, Mar 27, 2024.

  1. wabugi

    wabugi

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    The last few days I dealt with a bug which prevented me from starting virtual players in MPPM. I had to manually add a dependency to the Packages/manifest.json to overcome this issue. However, I ran into a new error which prevents MPPM from working. The virtual player now starts, but gives me this error preventing any multiplayer tests from working:

    "Asset Database is set to Read Only, but it has found out-of-date assets. This should not happen!"

    Any idea what I could do to fix this?
     
    TyypIO and alysonlupo like this.
  2. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6,486
    This sounds odd. What exactly was that issue and package?


    You should try deleting either Library/VP or the entire Library folder. With Unity closed.
     
  3. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441
    Also which version of MPPM and of Unity are you using?
     
  4. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6,486
    I had this error today as well. In Unity 6000.0.0b12 with MPPM 1.0.0 (no "pre").

    This happened after importing my template asset into a new project. Then activating all three virtual players all at once. I'm guessing that choked the system, and I may have modified the scene. I don't normally do this after having issues before but wanted to give that a try again.

    My best bet is to simultaneously enable three virtual players in a fresh project / cleaned Library. Then simultaneously - since that takes a while and one wants to stay busy - edit the open scene or a prefab (try saving them too) while the players are still activating.

    I have a feeling this is a bad idea but the system doesn't prevent one from modifying assets while players are activating.
     
    simon-lemay-unity likes this.
  5. wabugi

    wabugi

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Sorry for not providing more information. My bad.

    I'm using Unity 2023.2.15f1 and MPPM 0.6.0. The package I had to add a dependency for was A* Pathfinding Project. It is the only package I use that is directly located in the Packages folder.

    Even with Stack Trace Logging set to full for everything, I don't get more information regarding this new error. At least the VP compiles and I can actually start the play mode. However, the error comes first and after that I get a bunch of warnings regarding missing scripts on game objects. Needless to say, that it is unplayable.
     
  6. wabugi

    wabugi

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    After deleting the whole Library folder I get the same error, but in more detail.

    Asset Database is set to Read Only, but it has found out-of-date assets. This should not happen!
    0x00007ff97994416d (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    0x00007ff97994ba09 (Unity) GetStacktrace
    0x00007ff97b0c1d09 (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x00007ff97b0c18ca (Unity) AssertImplementation
    0x00007ff97ad1a6fe (Unity) RefreshInternalV2
    0x00007ff97ad23cda (Unity) StopAssetImportingV2Internal
    0x00007ff97ad1159d (Unity) InitialRefreshV2
    0x00007ff97acd48ce (Unity) AssetDatabase::InitialRefresh
    0x00007ff97a53b310 (Unity) Application::InitializeProject
    0x00007ff97a98838e (Unity) UnityMain
    0x00007ff656882cda (Unity) __scrt_common_main_seh
    0x00007ffa2927257d (KERNEL32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    0x00007ffa2af4aa58 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart
     
  7. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441
    Thanks for the details. If it's possible for your project, I'd suggest trying to update to a newer version of Unity. Ideally the latest Unity 6 preview, but if not possible then the latest you can. I'd also suggest updating MPPM to its 1.0.0 version at the same time. The error you're seeing is coming from the asset database, and there were a few fixes made to that code since 2023.2. Although evidently we still appear to have bugs to address in that area as shown by @CodeSmile above.
     
  8. wabugi

    wabugi

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Just updated to Unity 6 and MPPM 1.0. I also deleted the Library folder once again.

    When I try to activate a virtual player in MPPM the new player window does not even open. But after some time I see that the VP encountered 4 errors, which I can not see in detail and in my console I get this one:

    [MultiplayerPlaymode]: Timeout reached for client message 'OpenPlayerWindowMessage:da0e5a87731a45bea64b3be1daf848e5'
    0x00007ff963bee9ed (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    0x00007ff963bfe299 (Unity) PlatformStacktrace::GetStacktrace
    0x00007ff964d00d2e (Unity) Stacktrace::GetStacktrace
    0x00007ff96546b1b9 (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x00007ff962cb04d5 (Unity) DebugLogHandler_CUSTOM_Internal_Log
    0x000001c2adb324ad (Mono JIT Code) (wrapper managed-to-native) UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:Internal_Log_Injected (UnityEngine.LogType,UnityEngine.LogOption,UnityEngine.Bindings.ManagedSpanWrapper&,intptr)
    0x000001c2adb32293 (Mono JIT Code) UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:Internal_Log (UnityEngine.LogType,UnityEngine.LogOption,string,UnityEngine.Object)
    0x000001c2adb30dbb (Mono JIT Code) UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:LogFormat (UnityEngine.LogType,UnityEngine.Object,string,object[])
    0x000001c2adb309a0 (Mono JIT Code) UnityEngine.Logger:Log (UnityEngine.LogType,object)
    0x000001c2adb30778 (Mono JIT Code) UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning (object)
    0x000001c2deb6a7c3 (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Common.Runtime.MppmLog:Warning (object) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/Common/Runtime/Log/MppmLog.cs:12)
    0x000001c300e31715 (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MessagingService:HandleUpdate () (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/Messaging/MessagingService.cs:114)
    0x000001c300e30fa3 (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MainEditorSystems/<>c__DisplayClass11_0:<Listen>b__0 () (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/EditorSystems/MainEditorSystems.cs:94)
    0x000001c300e1c550 (Mono JIT Code) UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions ()
    0x000001c301000085 (Mono JIT Code) (wrapper runtime-invoke) object:runtime_invoke_void (object,intptr,intptr,intptr)
    0x00007ff97cdd69ae (mono-2.0-bdwgc) mono_jit_runtime_invoke (at C:/build/output/Unity-Technologies/mono/mono/mini/mini-runtime.c:3445)
    0x00007ff97cd184a4 (mono-2.0-bdwgc) do_runtime_invoke (at C:/build/output/Unity-Technologies/mono/mono/metadata/object.c:3068)
    0x00007ff97cd18590 (mono-2.0-bdwgc) mono_runtime_invoke (at C:/build/output/Unity-Technologies/mono/mono/metadata/object.c:3115)
    0x00007ff963b13114 (Unity) scripting_method_invoke
    0x00007ff963aeb063 (Unity) ScriptingInvocation::Invoke
    0x00007ff963ae6355 (Unity) ScriptingInvocation::Invoke<void>
    0x00007ff963c79b0b (Unity) Scripting::UnityEditor::EditorApplicationProxy::Internal_CallUpdateFunctions
    0x00007ff964bc2707 (Unity) SceneTracker::Update
    0x00007ff96488a65a (Unity) Application::TickTimer
    0x00007ff964d0533a (Unity) MainMessageLoop
    0x00007ff964d0ad7f (Unity) UnityMain
    0x00007ff6cc332cda (Unity) __scrt_common_main_seh
    0x00007ffa2927257d (KERNEL32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    0x00007ffa2af4aa58 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart
     
    DarkRewar and alysonlupo like this.
  9. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6,486
    I actually tried to repro this error yesterday having seen it only once or twice by activating multiple players while also editing scenes and prefabs at the same time. Was unable to provoke this issue, but could send a report for other errors I'm getting (particularly: Editor scene load cannot be used in playmode when exiting playmode).
     
    alysonlupo likes this.
  10. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441
    @wabugi That's a new one for me. Looks like the clone is not acknowledging messages being sent to it. Perhaps because it has crashed, which would be worrying. If you're in a position to share your project (or ideally if you're able to reproduce this on a fresh empty project), could you file a bug report through the editor?

    @CodeSmile Yes please file bug reports for other issues that you're able to reproduce.
     
  11. DarkRewar

    DarkRewar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    Hello @simon-lemay-unity , I'm also getting a "Timeout reached" warning that blocks the instance windows since the MPPM 1.0 release.

    I've sent a bug report, but the test-team can't reproduce the bug. There is my entire project + logs if someone of the Unity MPPM team wants to understand the bug.

    How to reproduce?
    - It seems the bug happens on Windows (it tried on my Mac, no problem)
    - On Unity 6 (6000.0.0b13) but also on the Unity 2023.2.16f1
    - On Windows 10 (10.0.19045) 64bit (for sure because it is my version)
    - On the MPPM 1.0 release (I did not have the bug on the preview)
    - When I want to activate a new instance from the MPPM window, it turned activated, but the window instance doesn't display. I have this error in my main editor log :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. [MultiplayerPlaymode]: Timeout reached for client message 'OpenPlayerWindowMessage:15841801b2914a4181f30ce3c81342ae'
    2. UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning (object)
    3. Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Common.Runtime.MppmLog:Warning (object) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/Common/Runtime/Log/MppmLog.cs:12)
    4. Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MessagingService:HandleUpdate () (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/Messaging/MessagingService.cs:113)
    5. Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MainEditorSystems/<>c__DisplayClass11_0:<Listen>b__0 () (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/EditorSystems/MainEditorSystems.cs:93)
    6. UnityEditor.EditorApplication:Internal_CallUpdateFunctions ()
    And on the VP Editor.log, I have this weird entry :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. UnityException: SJSON Parse Error (memory) at line 8: Error consuming: =
    2.  
    3. size = 0,5
    4.   at (wrapper managed-to-native) UnityEditor.SJSON.Decode_Injected(UnityEngine.Bindings.ManagedSpanWrapper&)
    5.   at UnityEditor.SJSON.Decode (System.Byte[] sjson) [0x00030] in <d6c5d70a43ff42ab8825e02a2b63daf0>:0
    6.   at UnityEditor.SJSON.LoadString (System.String json) [0x00023] in <d6c5d70a43ff42ab8825e02a2b63daf0>:0
    7. Rethrow as UnityException: SJSON Parse Error (string) at line 8: Error consuming: =
    8.  
    9. size = 0,5
    10.  
    11.   at UnityEditor.SJSON.LoadString (System.String json) [0x00048] in <d6c5d70a43ff42ab8825e02a2b63daf0>:0
    12.   at UnityEditor.WindowLayout.ShowWindowWithDynamicLayout (System.String windowId, System.String layoutDataPath) [0x00046] in <d6c5d70a43ff42ab8825e02a2b63daf0>:0
    13.   at Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.InternalBridge.Editor.WindowLayout.ShowWindowWithDynamicLayout (System.String windowId, System.String layoutFile) [0x00001] in .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\InternalBridge\WindowLayout.cs:10
    14.   at Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Workflow.Editor.ModeSwitcher.SwitchToView (Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Workflow.Editor.LayoutFlags layoutFlags) [0x00083] in .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\Workflow\Editor\EditorModes\ModeSwitcher.cs:112
    15.   at Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Workflow.Editor.StandardCloneWorkflow+<>c__DisplayClass4_0.<Initialize>b__4 () [0x00041] in .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\Workflow\Editor\Workflow\StandardCloneWorkflow.cs:115
    16.   at Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Workflow.Editor.ClonedPlayerApplicationEvents.InvokeOpenPlayerWindow () [0x00001] in .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\Workflow\Editor\EditorSystems\Events\ClonedPlayerApplicationEvents.cs:23
    17.   at Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Workflow.Editor.ClonedPlayerSystems+<>c__DisplayClass10_0.<Listen>b__8 (Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.Workflow.Editor.OpenPlayerWindowMessage _) [0x00000] in .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\Workflow\Editor\EditorSystems\ClonedPlayerSystems.cs:65
    18.   at Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MessagingService+<>c__DisplayClass21_0`1[TMessage].<Receive>g__Wrapper|0 (System.Object o) [0x00000] in .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\VirtualProjects\Editor\Messaging\MessagingService.cs:207
    19.   at Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MessagingService.HandleIncomingData (System.Byte[] bytes) [0x00209] in .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\VirtualProjects\Editor\Messaging\MessagingService.cs:299
    20. UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:Internal_LogException_Injected(Exception, IntPtr)
    21. UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:Internal_LogException(Exception, Object)
    22. UnityEngine.DebugLogHandler:LogException(Exception, Object)
    23. UnityEngine.Logger:LogException(Exception, Object)
    24. UnityEngine.Debug:LogException(Exception)
    25. Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MessagingService:HandleIncomingData(Byte[]) (at .\Library\PackageCache\com.unity.multiplayer.playmode\VirtualProjects\Editor\Messaging\MessagingService.cs:306)
    26. UnityEditor.MPE.ChannelClient:IncomingChannelClientData(Int32, Byte[])
    27.  
    28. (Filename: ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/Messaging/MessagingService.cs Line: 306)
     
  12. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6,486
    So far I have not encountered a timeout. You may want to try deleting the virtual players' cached data by deleting Library/VP/(every folder) but leave the .json file in the VP folder because that contains your players' tags and roles.
     
  13. DarkRewar

    DarkRewar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    already done that, nothing changed. I also tried to completely delete the Library folder. And I tried to remove the packages caches from my AppData. Nothing worked on ANY of my projects using MPPM.
     
  14. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441
    @DarkRewar Thanks for posting that SJSON-related error! That's actually quite telling of what's going on, although I don't have an explanation for it, and unfortunately no workaround either.

    Basically it appears the layout files on your system are written with decimal values using a comma instead of a period. Assuming you're not using a custom version of the package, could you look into the Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode@1.0.0/Workflow/Layouts folder and see if any of the SJSON files there contain the string "size = 0,5"?

    Also a bit of a shot in the dark, but is your Windows system set in some particular locale (e.g. French or German)? I'm wondering if perhaps there's something somewhere that parses decimal values differently based on the locale.
     
  15. DarkRewar

    DarkRewar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    Yes my Windows language is set to French. I’ll try to modify the layout and go back to you asap
     
  16. DarkRewar

    DarkRewar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    @simon-lemay-unity I opened every SJON Layouts, in every of them, the size is "0.5" (and not "0,5"). Reading the log I previously sent, the bug happened when it tries to WRITE the "Library/UserSettings/Layouts\layout_0010.wlt" file. So, I updated the layout_0010.sjson file to set the size to 1 like that:

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. restore_saved_layout = true
    2. top_view =                 { class_name = "TopView" size = 30 }
    3. view = {
    4. vertical = true
    5.             children = [
    6. {
    7. tabs = true
    8. size = 1
    9.             children = [
    10.                 { class_name = "GameView" }
    11.             ]
    12. }
    13. {
    14. tabs = true
    15. size = 1
    16.             children = [
    17.                 { class_name = "ConsoleWindow" }
    18.             ]
    19. }
    20.             ]
    21. }
    It didn't work, I think it does not update the package properly if I modify it myself. But the real problem is that my Windows is set to French. And maybe, when it tries to write the file, it converts 0.5 to 0,5 (like readable French float number).

    EDIT: I changed my regional format to English and it worked so it seems the bug only happens on regional format that uses "," as decimal (like French). Pls, fix this
     

    Attached Files:

  17. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441
    Alright, we've identified the problem. We're preparing a fix. Thanks for helping us debug this!
     
    CodeSmile and DarkRewar like this.
  18. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441
    If you'd like to try the fix locally, you can change file Workflow/Editor/EditorModes/Convert.cs and replace
    @$"size = {size}"
    with
    string.Format(CultureInfo.InvariantCulture, "size = {0}", size)
    (at line 11). You'll probably need to include the
    System.Globalization
    namespace too. That should allow the layout files to be generated with the correct format.
     
    Wobbers likes this.
  19. wabugi

    wabugi

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Sadly, this does not fix my "out-of-date assets" issue. I don't feel comfy giving away my project. I will see if I can reproduce the error. This could take a bit since time is short right now.
     
  20. DarkRewar

    DarkRewar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    Even using MPPM 1.0? Did you get both errors (out-of-date and Timeout Reached)?
     
  21. simon-lemay-unity

    simon-lemay-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2021
    Posts:
    441
    Yes I would not have expected the fix above to address the out-of-date assets issues, only the timeout problem. I should have clarified that. The out-of-date assets is an asset database problem and any fix would likely have to be done in the editor itself. If you still see that issue on the latest Unity 6 preview, then that's something we'd still need to investigate. Having a reproduction project for that would definitely be helpful.
     
  22. wabugi

    wabugi

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Only the out of date issue and also with MPPM 1.0. I get this error 4 times now. The first 2 and the second 2 are identical with identical timestamp.

    Error 1:
    Asset Database is set to Read Only, but it has found out-of-date assets. This should not happen!
    0x00007ffcb9ade9ed (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    0x00007ffcb9aee299 (Unity) PlatformStacktrace::GetStacktrace
    0x00007ffcbabf0d2e (Unity) Stacktrace::GetStacktrace
    0x00007ffcbb35b1b9 (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x00007ffcbb35ad7a (Unity) AssertImplementation
    0x00007ffcbafa47c3 (Unity) RefreshInternalV2
    0x00007ffcbafada7c (Unity) StopAssetImportingV2Internal
    0x00007ffcbaa5d081 (Unity) EditorSceneManager::RestoreSceneBackups
    0x00007ffcba77d8a6 (Unity) PlayerLoopController::EnterPlayMode
    0x00007ffcba77f56e (Unity) PlayerLoopController::SetIsPlaying
    0x00007ffcba77ab3d (Unity) Application::TickTimer
    0x00007ffcbabf533a (Unity) MainMessageLoop
    0x00007ffcbabfad7f (Unity) UnityMain
    0x00007ff6e1062cda (Unity) __scrt_common_main_seh
    0x00007ffd5aec257d (KERNEL32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    0x00007ffd5cc4aa58 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart

    Error 2:
    Asset Database is set to Read Only, but it has found out-of-date assets. This should not happen!
    0x00007ffcb9ade9ed (Unity) StackWalker::ShowCallstack
    0x00007ffcb9aee299 (Unity) PlatformStacktrace::GetStacktrace
    0x00007ffcbabf0d2e (Unity) Stacktrace::GetStacktrace
    0x00007ffcbb35b1b9 (Unity) DebugStringToFile
    0x00007ffcbb35ad7a (Unity) AssertImplementation
    0x00007ffcbafa47c3 (Unity) RefreshInternalV2
    0x00007ffcbafada7c (Unity) StopAssetImportingV2Internal
    0x00007ffcbafa5a5c (Unity) RefreshV2
    0x00007ffcbaf62f10 (Unity) AssetDatabase::Refresh
    0x00007ffcb8fa1267 (Unity) AssetDatabase_CUSTOM_Refresh
    0x0000018b02651c0a (Mono JIT Code) (wrapper managed-to-native) UnityEditor.AssetDatabase:Refresh (UnityEditor.ImportAssetOptions)
    0x0000018b02651b23 (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.CloneInternalRuntime/<>c:<HandleEvents>b__0_0 (bool,int) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/Contexts/CloneInternalRuntime.cs:34)
    0x0000018b02651a29 (Mono JIT Code) (wrapper delegate-invoke) System.Action`2<bool, int>:invoke_void_T1_T2 (bool,int)
    0x0000018b02651937 (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.AssetImportEvents:InvokeRequestImport (bool,int) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/EditorSystems/Events/AssetImportEvents.cs:12)
    0x0000018b026518b3 (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.CloneSystems/<>c__DisplayClass9_0:<Listen>b__1 (Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.TriggerCloneRefreshMessage) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/EditorSystems/CloneSystems.cs:84)
    0x0000018b0265184c (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MessagingService/<>c__DisplayClass21_0`1<TMessage_REF>:<Receive>g__Wrapper|0 (object) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/Messaging/MessagingService.cs:207)
    0x0000018b0264b95d (Mono JIT Code) Unity.Multiplayer.Playmode.VirtualProjects.Editor.MessagingService:HandleIncomingData (byte[]) (at ./Library/PackageCache/com.unity.multiplayer.playmode/VirtualProjects/Editor/Messaging/MessagingService.cs:299)
    0x0000018b0264a675 (Mono JIT Code) UnityEditor.MPE.ChannelClient:IncomingChannelClientData (int,byte[])
    0x0000018b0264a90f (Mono JIT Code) (wrapper runtime-invoke) <Module>:runtime_invoke_void_int_object (object,intptr,intptr,intptr)
    0x00007ffc9bb569ae (mono-2.0-bdwgc) mono_jit_runtime_invoke (at C:/build/output/Unity-Technologies/mono/mono/mini/mini-runtime.c:3445)
    0x00007ffc9ba984a4 (mono-2.0-bdwgc) do_runtime_invoke (at C:/build/output/Unity-Technologies/mono/mono/metadata/object.c:3068)
    0x00007ffc9ba98590 (mono-2.0-bdwgc) mono_runtime_invoke (at C:/build/output/Unity-Technologies/mono/mono/metadata/object.c:3115)
    0x00007ffcb9a03114 (Unity) scripting_method_invoke
    0x00007ffcb99db063 (Unity) ScriptingInvocation::Invoke
    0x00007ffcb99d6355 (Unity) ScriptingInvocation::Invoke<void>
    0x00007ffcb9b54f36 (Unity) Scripting::UnityEditor::MPE::ChannelClientProxy::IncomingChannelClientData
    0x00007ffcbb2ac0e8 (Unity) Unity::MPE::ChannelClient::ChannelHandler
    0x00007ffcbb2aac9f (Unity) `Unity::MPE::Websocket::easywsclient::WebSocket::dispatchBinary<Unity::MPE::Websocket::ClientState>'::`2'::_Callback::eek:perator()
    0x00007ffcbb2b9bb4 (Unity) Unity::MPE::Websocket::easywsclient::_RealWebSocket::_dispatchBinary
    0x00007ffcbb2ab996 (Unity) Unity::MPE::ChannelClient::AutoTickChannelClient
    0x00007ffcb8c8d047 (Unity) CallbackArray::Invoke
    0x00007ffcba77a483 (Unity) Application::TickTimer
    0x00007ffcbabf533a (Unity) MainMessageLoop
    0x00007ffcbabfad7f (Unity) UnityMain
    0x00007ff6e1062cda (Unity) __scrt_common_main_seh
    0x00007ffd5aec257d (KERNEL32) BaseThreadInitThunk
    0x00007ffd5cc4aa58 (ntdll) RtlUserThreadStart
     
  23. wabugi

    wabugi

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Found it! I also sent a bug report and I will inform the developer of A* Pathfinding Project.

    Steps to reproduce:

    1. Install Unity 6000.0.0b13

    2. Install Multiplayer Play Mode 1.0.0

    3. Install A* Pathfinding Project Pro 5.0.6

    4. Create a new GameObject

    5. Attack "RichAI" script to the GameObject.

    6. Save this GameObject as a prefab anywhere in your Assets folder.

    7. The GameObject can be removed from the scene.

    8. Enable a virtual player in Multiplayer play mode.

    9. The console of the virtual player should show an error reading: Asset Database is set to Read Only, but it has found out-of-date assets. This should not happen!
     
    simon-lemay-unity likes this.
  24. Tzunamii

    Tzunamii

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    I just had the same problem. The Unity version is now 6000.0.0f1 and with this fix it worked. When will this be implemented in an update?
     
  25. DarkRewar

    DarkRewar

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    I think it will never be fixed... I opened an issue in the bug report that has been flagged as "Not Qualified." by
    Sebastian Termen (of the QA) because he couldn't reproduce the bug. Until someone in France (or a country with globalization problems) reopens and takes the bug, you will get that bug...
     
  26. TyypIO

    TyypIO

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2023
    Posts:
    1
    When I start a virtual player while not in Play mode, I get the out-of-date error, followed by a few hundred other errors. I see some assets being rendered, but not all.

    When I am in Play mode and then start a virtual player, I first get this error: Assertion failed on expression: 'scriptedIMporterClass == SCRIPTING_NULL || uniqueDomainId == MonoDomainGetUniqueId()'
    Followed by the out-of-date assets error.
    In this case, no graphics are rendered at all.

    This is an upgraded project, not a fresh project.
     
  27. masonrcrowe

    masonrcrowe

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2023
    Posts:
    6
    still happens in latest unity 6