Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to implement multiplayer into my 2D card game

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by iCaramella, Apr 30, 2021.

1. iCaramella

iCaramella

Hello guys!

At first sorry for my english

Now, I'm really new with Unity, and I just started to make a 2D card game (it will be an android app), my question is: how can I implement multiplayer into this game?

I'm following many videos on youtube and I found one where the guy suggests to use Mirror.

I really have no idea on how to start with multiplayer it seems difficult.
    Probably I need a database for players_data, win_rates and more

HELP!

2. toddkc

toddkc

If you just started with unity I would highly recommend not trying to make a multiplayer game yet.

Having said that, if you really want to....there are many options. Mirror will work, Photon PUN will also work. IMHO Photon PUN would be easier for you as it does some things for you like matchmaking and relay. Those things would have to be done by you if you used mirror. For player data you could start with just using PlayerPrefs or get a saving asset from the store, like Easy Save. There are also many options for services to handle player accounts: GameSparks, PlayFab, LootLocker.

iCaramella likes this.
  3. iCaramella

iCaramella

I know that trying to learn too many things at once can be difficult but I really want to make this little app :D
    Also I know that I need to learn the most part of Unity definitions to be clear on the forum.

I'm working very hard making a lot of tests and I want to try to complete the app in a month

As I said I'm trying using Mirror due to that video on youtube that explains almost everything very clear