Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Drawing from data without Hybrid Renderer

Discussion in 'Graphics for ECS' started by 5argon, Feb 2, 2020.

1. 5argon

5argon

I have a situation where it is difficult to attach RenderMesh and LocalToWorld to my data entities that I would like to draw. Instead, I would like to iterate through my data with EntityQuery then call some drawing methods without using any Hybrid Renderer systems.

I have never used any manual drawing methods before, I have look at the Graphics API (https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Graphics.html) I got some questions :

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Graphics.DrawMesh.html

- If I submit in wrong Z ordering, will they get sorted correctly as a part of "normal rendering process"? (e.g. use DrawMesh for character before the mountains behind)

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Graphics.DrawMeshInstanced.html

- What is the draw order among instanced meshes? Is it according to Matrix4x4[] matrices ordering?
    - What is z efficiency?
    - Would the draw order of latter DrawMeshInstanced be completely over the prior one? Or are they sorted together as a part of normal rendering process like the DrawMesh situation I assumed?

https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Graphics.DrawMeshInstancedProcedural.html

- How could I specify position for each of the `count` instances here?

- How can solve ordering problem when drawing an overlapping mesh with Graphics API? For example if I have a cylinder and a cube Mesh and would like to get this result :

upload_2020-2-2_11-33-38.png

https://docs.unity3d.com/2019.3/Documentation/ScriptReference/Rendering.BatchRendererGroup.html