Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.1 has arrived! Read about it here
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Scriptable Render Pipeline improvements, Texture Mipmap Streaming, and more! Check out what we have in store for you in the 2018.2 Beta.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. If you couldn't join the live stream, take a peek at what you missed.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Does the HLAPI even work??

Discussion in 'Multiplayer Networking' started by Braineeee, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. Braineeee

    Braineeee

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    661
    I don't understand why when I attempt to run one instance of a networked game running I get null refs everywhere. Its literally implausible. I'm using the standard assets which use a lot of [Require]'s and GetComponent(); on Start() and I know the assets already have those scripts attached.

    Also it is 1am Mountain Standard time, as of two hours ago I discovered that the main Photon Unity Networking webpage doesn't seem to be loading. Does anyone know if it is still being hosted or if PUN is still being maintained?? My Asset store says the last update was two months ago!
     
  2. vis2k

    vis2k

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Posts:
    2,316
    Try this one: https://forum.unity.com/threads/unet-hlapi-pro-taking-unet-to-the-next-level.425437/
     
  3. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    2,547
    The HLAPI does work. If you'd give more details about your null ref errors maybe someone could help.
     
  4. Braineeee

    Braineeee

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    661
    I read some stuff from a year ago saying the HLAPI and associated networking features aren't being maintained because the dev who was working on it left. Is that true? Those posts date back to 2017.

    I am just using the ThirdPersonCharacter controller. Code has not changed. Its calling Getcomponent<Animator>(); on start(), but doesn't seem to be finding the reference. Perhaps I am doing something incorrectly?
     
  5. cephalo2

    cephalo2

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    133
    I say don't get involved with HLAPI at this time. Especially if you are learning network programming. It cost me 6 months.
     
    Braineeee likes this.
  6. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    2,547
    You're correct that the HLAPI hasn't been getting updates from Unity for a while. vis2k gave you a link to the community supported version (mostly vis2k supported) with fixes for all known bugs. But the bugs fixed are mostly issues you wouldn't have hit just starting a UNET project.
     
    Braineeee likes this.