Search Unity

  1. Improved Prefab workflow (includes Nested Prefabs!), 2D isometric Tilemap and more! Get the 2018.3 Beta now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Let us know a bit about your interests, and if you'd like to become more directly involved. Take our survey!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Does the HLAPI even work??

Discussion in 'Connected Games' started by Braineeee, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. Braineeee

    Braineeee

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    703
    I don't understand why when I attempt to run one instance of a networked game running I get null refs everywhere. Its literally implausible. I'm using the standard assets which use a lot of [Require]'s and GetComponent(); on Start() and I know the assets already have those scripts attached.

    Also it is 1am Mountain Standard time, as of two hours ago I discovered that the main Photon Unity Networking webpage doesn't seem to be loading. Does anyone know if it is still being hosted or if PUN is still being maintained?? My Asset store says the last update was two months ago!
     
  2. vis2k

    vis2k

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Posts:
    2,618
    Try this one: https://forum.unity.com/threads/unet-hlapi-pro-taking-unet-to-the-next-level.425437/
     
  3. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    3,593
    The HLAPI does work. If you'd give more details about your null ref errors maybe someone could help.
     
  4. Braineeee

    Braineeee

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Posts:
    703
    I read some stuff from a year ago saying the HLAPI and associated networking features aren't being maintained because the dev who was working on it left. Is that true? Those posts date back to 2017.

    I am just using the ThirdPersonCharacter controller. Code has not changed. Its calling Getcomponent<Animator>(); on start(), but doesn't seem to be finding the reference. Perhaps I am doing something incorrectly?
     
  5. cephalo2

    cephalo2

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Posts:
    143
    I say don't get involved with HLAPI at this time. Especially if you are learning network programming. It cost me 6 months.
     
    Braineeee likes this.
  6. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    3,593
    You're correct that the HLAPI hasn't been getting updates from Unity for a while. vis2k gave you a link to the community supported version (mostly vis2k supported) with fixes for all known bugs. But the bugs fixed are mostly issues you wouldn't have hit just starting a UNET project.
     
    Braineeee likes this.