Search Unity

Unity Creator Kit: FPS

Discussion in 'Community Learning & Teaching' started by Woolley_Kat, Jun 11, 2019.

  1. Woolley_Kat

    Woolley_Kat

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    FPS_AssetStore_SocialMedia_BrainRoom with Gun (1).jpg
    Unity's Content Team are excited to announce THREE brand new projects for your code free, drag and drop delight. Please use this forum thread for the FPS Creator Kit and tell us what you think, we're always looking to improve our content for you.

    Find the tutorial on Unity Learn
    Find it on the Asset Store

    Learn the basics of Unity in under an hour with our Creator Kits - they're like miniature versions of the bigger Game Kits. Aimed at complete beginners, create your own 3D level with our room snapping tool, learn about enemies, prefabs and ending a game level with this beginner's FPS Creator Kit.

    Forum post for the Puzzle Creator Kit
    Forum post for the RPG Creator Kit


     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2019
    Gametyme, Mauri and Rowlan like this.
  2. Gabosaurus

    Gabosaurus

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    I'm following the Creator Kits: FPS tutorial and at the Design your own level, Add you own Room, the Editing Layout doesn't seem to generate the rooms at the doors. Moving the mouse around doesn't show the position of new rooms or corridors (neither does pressing R).

    I'm using Unity 2019.1.5f1.

    G.
     
  3. UnityRos

    UnityRos

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Hi @Gabosaurus!

    Sorry you're having trouble with the Creator Kit: FPS. We need a little more information to help:

    1.
    Did you select a room or corridor thumbnail image, before moving your cursor from the Inspector into the Scene view? The selected room or corridor will appear greyed out -- see the example below:

    Screenshot 2019-07-08 at 17.19.15.png


    2. If so, could you please take us a similar screenshot of your Scene view and the Inspector? Then we'll be able to investigate this issue in more detail.
     
  4. Gabosaurus

    Gabosaurus

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    The issue is with both corridor and room. For example, the first corridor can be placed correctly but I can't continue it with another one.

    One corridor added, but can't place another one after it.
    ScreenShot1.png


    Try to delete it, but it's never selected (in orange)

    ScreenShot3.png

    Same with Room.

    ScreenShot2.png

    TY,
    G
     
  5. JacekPapaPolski

    JacekPapaPolski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Hey Gabosaurus,

    I tried to reproduce your issue but couldn't get it to occur on my end. I've got some questions for you to help us track it down and fix it!

    Would you be able to share any of the console errors you're receiving in the console? Seems like there is some NullReferenceException error.

    Sometimes when projects aren't working correctly but should be, it could help to try a Reimport of the project - to do this right click anywhere within the project window and select "Reimport All". This process goes through importing every asset into your project as if it was opening it for the first time - which can oftentimes lead to a fix in case some files didn't import correctly upon initial opening. Alternatively, deleting the Library folder from your disk where the project is stored can have the same effect (This folder will be reacquired when the project is opened again).
    Good luck and keep us updated!
     
  6. R1PFake

    R1PFake

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    241
    Can you explain why you used this specific skybox? Since it's not visible to the player, I assume that it was only picked for lighting settings?

    It looks like the LevelLayout scripts hides all rooms from the hierarchy (by setting a HideInHierarchy flag). Can you explain why? Is it just to keep the hierarchy "cleaner" or is there any other purpose for this? Was a little confusing to be honest.
     
  7. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,181
    Your asset link above is broken and the tutorial site tries to make a popup to link to asset store download!
     
  8. ayellowpaper

    ayellowpaper

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Hey,

    first of all thanks to the content team for the effort you put into the packages. It's really appreciated.
    While I'm an advanced developer I'm more interested in the code and stumbled over this bit:

    HideFlags.png

    Maybe it's finally time to get HideFlags to serialize in the editor if even the content team needs to resort to a hack? I've done the same thing myself more often than I wanted to. Also, maybe make the objects unclickable as well. It has always bothered me that I can completely hide the object in the hierarchy but still be able to click on it.

    EDIT: Other than that I think that the assets are very beautiful. I just wish we'd get more advanced games instead of these mini games. I understand the goal is to teach beginners, but we already have a wealth of beginner tutorials and resources. We are still missing a bigger project and a more indepth tutorial going in more detail how to create proper systems with Unity. Something like multiple levels, managing game states, level streaming (an open world) or something along those lines.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2019
    Molecule_Arts and Adam-Bailey like this.
  9. Roostay

    Roostay

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Firstly, i've very new to Unity, having only recently completed John Lemon, I set about the FPS tutorial. it all seems to be relatively straight-forward, until I reach the End Game. I've move the Box Collider a long way from the start point, howeverloading the
     
  10. Roostay

    Roostay

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    as soon as my head hit the pillow I realised it... the End Checkpoint Script is non-specific as to what needs to collide in order to end the game; i've an enemy too close to it! :rolleyes:
     
  11. Aydom

    Aydom

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Unity Team,

    A big thanks for producing such great content. One thing I noticed is that the footstep sounds don't play when you have the other weapons equipped. Is this a bug? Or is it part of the tutorial to fix that issue?
     
  12. ThegreenY

    ThegreenY

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    First of all I must say that I like the whole thing so far quite well, I only noticed one thing that I don't like so well.
    I've been trying to add a main menu for 8 hours now, but it didn't work, could you add something like that?

    Wanted to do the whole thing the following measurements:

    - 3 Buttons:
    - 1. Play Game --> Level Select --> Load Level
    - 2. Settings | Credits or other
    - 3. Exit Game

    - Pause Menu:
    - Exit Game --> Return to Menu
     
  13. Corsello

    Corsello

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    such a great kit, i love it!
    I'm getting a lot of warnings about missing scripts, is this normal or am i missing something?

    FPS kit.png
     
  14. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104
  15. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104

    Hey, looks like you're missing packages from the package manager, which is where some Unity features are kept. Try closing the editor and opening the project again.

    If that fails right click in the project window and select 're-import all'
     
  16. Corsello

    Corsello

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,
    neither of these solution worked for me, but i updated unity to 2019.2 and the project seems to works fine now, i don't have warnings anymore.There are 2 music tracks in the audio folder but i am only listening to sound effects, is this normal?
    Thanks!


    FPS kit.png
     
  17. LindsayD622

    LindsayD622

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2019
    Posts:
    43
    Mine wont even open. I have the 2919.2.2 Unity update but I still can't open it through my hub or through the asset store. How do I resolve this
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Valjuin

    Valjuin

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Posts:
    160
    Unity Hub -> Down arrow next to the “New” button -> Select 2019.2.2f1

    Select 3D Template -> Name your project and enter location to save to -> Click on Create

    In Unity main menu -> Window -> Asset Store

    In Asset Store window, search for Creator Kit: FPS

    Click on Creator Kit: FPS -> Import

    When Import Unity Package window opens, click on Import.
     
  19. Stefan86

    Stefan86

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Posts:
    53
    Hello..
    Can I Use the Player Character and the Enemy Characters in a Commercial Game?
     
  20. ZDragon_

    ZDragon_

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Can anyone help me why my VS is all like this?
    They(the dlls) all seem missing,VS cannot find the dll file?And System.void\object havent been imported,why all like this?
    plz~Orz
    jeeez im gonna crazy
     

    Attached Files:

  21. iAmEbola

    iAmEbola

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I am enjoying this content and tutorial for us beginners. I am a mechanical drafter by trade and spend a lot of time designing 3D Components. So the zoom/pan/rotate and moving around the scene is quite foreign to me based on what I'm used to. Little frustrating, but that's part of learning.

    I had an interesting thing where I was creating the rooms and corridors part and started populating the new areas with more enemies. Went to the 3rd corridor and somehow the Targets folder disspeared! I couldn't find it.

    I tried reimporting, but nothing. So I closed out. Opened it back up and it reloaded everything brand new and I now have to start all over again. Second time in the past 24 hours. Why does it not save the scene I created? It is like it redownloads the whole turorial and overwrites everything. I'm not one to repeat the same thing over and over. What's going on?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2019
  22. JacekPapaPolski

    JacekPapaPolski

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2017
    Posts:
    25
    Hi there,

    Sorry to hear about the issues you've encountered with the FPS Creator Kit. It sounds like the Targets folder has been deleted accidentally - Did you search for the Folder using the Project Windows Search function in the upper right of the window?
    If a folder is deleted, reimporting the project won't bring it back, as the reimport functionality goes through every Asset/file currently within the Assets folder and imports it again. (though it is possible to restore a deleted folder by going to your Operating System Trash/Recycle Bin and restoring the folder along with it's meta file).

    In regards to resetting all your progress, our tutorials work in a specific way different to a usual Unity Project. Redownloading a Learn Project clears all progress so you can follow the steps. However opening a pre-existing Learn Project through the Unity Hub will give you access to any scenes you have worked on and saved. To do this you need to select the "Keep" option when closing the Unity Editor. Otherwise the Learn project is forgotten and removed from your hard drive.
     
    iAmEbola likes this.
  23. iAmEbola

    iAmEbola

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Thank you for your reply. That's what I was thinking after I thought about it for some time; or I accidentally moved it to another sub-folder. Who knows? LOL

    I only manually searched the folders within the project itself manually to see if I just misplaced it or whatever. I didn't do a comprehensive search, no.

    Gotcha on the reimport aspect.

    I was opening the tutorial from the Unity Hub. I don't recall getting a "Keep" option when I closed. Odd. I guess I'll have to pay better attention.

    Thanks again!
     
  24. CHS_CS254

    CHS_CS254

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I've probably screwed a few things up and just can't find what I did but.. I can't get my game to start at the beginning. When I try to play, the camera shows the begining but the end level menu is up and the screen is grayed out. Suggestions?
     
  25. steppkek

    steppkek

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I can't donload any creator kits because the button is just blank