Search Unity

XR Management for Oculus Go workflow Unity 2019.3

Discussion in 'VR' started by Rafarel, Dec 21, 2019.

1. Rafarel

Rafarel

Hi there,

I'm not new to VR, I'm not new to Unity, but I'm new to VR with Unity.
    I'm trying to have a very simple application compiling and running to my Oculus Go using Unity 2019.3 and the new way of enabling VR with the XR management plugin.
    I found almost nothing in term of documentation about the new workflow with XR Management and I spent a few hour trying to have a simple application running on an Oculus Go, but any temptative crashed on the device with a message that tells me that my app just stopped working. I never saw the Unity logo in the HMD ...

What I've done so far :
    - My Oculus Go is in developer mode and recognized by
    adb devices
    and Unity build windows.
    - I've installed XR Management Plugin 3.0.5 and Oculus XR Plugin 1.1.4
    - In project settings, I've added Oculus Loader in the Android tab. (see screenshots below)
    - I've installed Input helpers 1.3.8 and added a Tracked Pose Driver to my main camera.
    - I've added a signe cube to my scene to keep things simple.
    - In build settings, I've added my scene switch to Android platform, then Build and Run.
    - The apk is compiled and copied on the Oculus Gom then ....

Black screen on the Oculus Go, the app crashed and the Oculus ask me to quit the app...

I'll try to use the old Workflow, see if I can have something on my Oculus Go ...
    Anyone can help me on this ?

Thanks, have a nice day!

vr-unity-1.png
    vr-unity-2.png

2. Rafarel

Rafarel

I tried with Unity 2018.4.14f1 LTS with the old workflow and it just worked out of the box.
    I'm still interested in knowing why I can't get this work with the new XR Management workflow :)

sluggo2112 and BrainSlugs83 like this.
  3. franadoriv

franadoriv