Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Why are YOU developing a game?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hippocoder, Aug 25, 2013.

?

Why are you developing a game?

1. It's my day job, I am a successful developer

30 vote(s)
    18.3%
  2. I want it to be my job!

55 vote(s)
    33.5%
  3. I think I will get rich...

13 vote(s)
    7.9%
  4. I am just fooling around!

8 vote(s)
    4.9%
  5. It's my hobby.

58 vote(s)
    35.4%
  1. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

Maximum honesty, please and feel free to elaborate in the thread.

2. DallonF

DallonF

Because there are games that don't exist and that I want to play, and because I love making things move. My aim is to release simple and unique games that earn just enough profit to pay for the tools I bought to create them. If I can make any money beyond that, I would be super excited! Maybe it could be my job someday... or maybe it would lose all of its fun if I went professional. I'll worry about that later, once a career in game development is actually an option.

3. GiusCo

GiusCo

I'm a grumpy 40 years old and just want to get rich now! :D

4. Amon

Amon

Because I still have that magnificent feeling I had during the magic era of computing when I would code in Commodore 64 basic. Man those were the days.

To answer in full; I need to develop and work of contracts in order to make my living and keep business from failing.

5. superroxfan

superroxfan

It's mainly a hobby, but I am also going to make some cash off of it by posting it to fgl.com. I'm only a teen and would much rather make some income doing something I love as opposed to flipping burgers and the like ;)

6. SpaceMammoth

SpaceMammoth