Search Unity

Why all the networking solutions (Mirror/Photon/MLAPI) are prefab oriented solutions?

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by X3doll, Apr 20, 2021.

1. X3doll

X3doll

I am a developer from at least 10 years, and start gamedev 2 years ago and i was very unconfindent on how to implement basic networking.

My first doubt was "Why all these frameworks are 'Player' oriented?" Let me explain.

Quicks Steps:
    1) Open any network framework build in into Unity.
    2) Check on NetworkManager for a "Player Prefab" or "Client Prefabs".

I find it really no sense and ultra constraint to a scenario where a player spawn when we connect. Why these solutions are so popular?

Why put that hard constraints on spawn "Something" on connection? And if i won't? What happen?
    These thing warm my mind like hell.

I don't want to built up a philosophical discourse, but i really need to understand why all these frameworks are "player prefab spawn on connection to server" oriented and not general events oriented by default.

I don't want to be ignorant anymore, i need answers.
    Maybe it's only my problem, but i need to know if its only mine or not.

2. JesOb

JesOb

I have same feeling.
    Also annoying when network lib try to manage scenes. What if I dont have scene or have many scenes per map...

So we build our own system that dont need any prefabs or scenes. And then migrate all that system to DOTS.
    Now even in editor we have 3 ECS worlds. One general, one for battle host and one for battle client.

3. They do this because they are high level tools. They handle the life-cycle of objects throughout. They "guarantee" (if the setup is right) that they sync the object through the network, including the moment when the player spawns.

You can choose not to use any high level tool and just take any transport library and write your own synchronization and handle the life-cycle of your objects yourself.

X3doll likes this.
  4. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored