Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Where do you put your specular/roughness maps in the standard shader?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by TwiiK, Mar 7, 2015.

1. TwiiK

TwiiK

Looking at the viking village it seems like Unity uses the standard shader (specular setup) for everything, but you should be able to use the other shader as well, right? I mean it's the default one. :p I like the metal/smoothness sliders, but I was expecting the smoothness value to also take a map or something.

I'm not having any luck finding examples of how to use it and there's no obvious place for me to put these maps from what I can tell.

I have no prior experience with physically based shading so I have no preconceived notion of how it should be I was just expecting it to be a bit more intuitive than this.

2. TwiiK

TwiiK

Also, am I the only one who really hate the 2 textures per file thingy? Do you really gain that much performance by doing it this way? It's such a pain to work with. I have to open a file, look in the channels in photoshop, disable the color channels, ahh, there's another texture which is impossible to see in Windows Explorer when browsing my textures. I want all my textures as separate files. :p

Is it easy for me to create my own version of the standard shader with all the maps as their own textures? With Unity 4 this was easy, but I've tried opening the standard shader and I don't really understand it. It seems to span multiple files.

3. TwiiK

TwiiK