Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

What exactly is Scripting?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by DemonSlayer730, Aug 28, 2016.

1. DemonSlayer730

DemonSlayer730

So I'm new to the game development community and I'm having problems understanding what scripting is exactly. I've read something online about scripting taking the place of a human operator or something? Also, due to my lack of understanding of scripting, does a designer using Unity need to know coding? Or can the programmer for the game do the scripting after the designing?

Last edited: Aug 28, 2016
  2. ericbegue

ericbegue

Scripting is a way to tell the elements of your game how to behave, in details. It's similar to traditional movies, where the actors read the script, memorize it and then play it in from of a camera. For a video game, since computer does not understand English (or any natural language) as human do, you need to write your scripts using a programming language.

A game designer is the person who think and decide about the fundamental concepts and mechanics of the game. This person is not a programmer, but it small development team the same person can have different roles.

3. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Scripting = programming. (There may be nitpicky arguments about nuances between the two, but for the purposes of Unity they are essentially the same.) If you don't know how to program, you need to learn or hire someone who can.

--Eric

4. DemonSlayer730

DemonSlayer730