Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Question What engine should use?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by felb312, May 22, 2024.

1. felb312

felb312

Hello, I'm new to this, I recently started studying video game development and I had a question.

I should learn Godot engine or Unity.

I'm leaning towards Godot because of my PC specs: Intel Core I-7 6700, AMD Radeon HD 5450, 8GB RAM.

Could you help me answer this question?

Thank you so much

Edit: Sorry, I got confused about the category :( I think that I was in General Discussion

2. mgear

mgear

you can use anything that you like and fits your project.. : )

what kind of game it will be and what platforms you want to publish?
    do you know some programming languages already, or you want to do visual scripting?
    do you want to get jobs in game dev or this is hobby project?

can also try both engines (and theres many other 2d engines too) and see what feels good.

Ryiah likes this.
  3. SunnySunshine

SunnySunshine

They're both free to download and try out, so why not give both of them a whirl to see what works for you?

4. Murgilod

Murgilod

If power to weight ratio is a concern I recommend a Wankel engine.

Unifikation and MitchStan like this.
  5. MitchStan

MitchStan

Will that run under Linux?

6. PanthenEye

PanthenEye

Asking in engine specific forums will get you biased information. My personal opinion, is that Godot is undercooked and will approach general usability of mainstream engines in about a year or two if it stays on the current trajectory. But it's probably good enough for learning.