Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Using free art as samples in Packages

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Leslie-Young, Sep 7, 2012.

1. Leslie-Young

Leslie-Young

I'm a coder and not really good at this art thing, as can be seen from the sample art in my packages, and was wondering if it is allowed if we use free art as sample art in packages seeing as I would not be selling the art in the package but only be using it to demonstrate how to use the package.

I was thinking of perhaps using a model or two from http://media.ryzom.com/ for my next UnIRPG update - that is if I could get 'em working properly.

[edit] I don't think the Ryzom assets would be allowed, but is interested in knowing what you guys have to say about this, and is curious cause I've seen another AS package including ryzom assets before.

Last edited: Sep 7, 2012
  2. wccrawford

wccrawford

You're asking the wrong people. You have to ask the content owners if you can use their work. There's no way around that.

3. Leslie-Young

Leslie-Young

Yes, guess you are right. As I understand it, everything in your package is covered by the asset store lciense and can't be covered by any other license. So if we take ryzom assets for example, it would conflict with the commons lic. except if I could get permission to incl. it in my package under the asset store lic.. which would not happen.

4. Jaimi

Jaimi

The ryzom assets are definitely allowed. They are released under CC3 including for commercial purposes, as long as you attribute them. There is no conflict, the license is very simple (relavent parts quoted below):

I've asked the CTO or ryzome what needs to be stated - here is his reply: