Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved Update a lot for meshes fast

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Chmyke, Jun 9, 2022.

1. Chmyke

Chmyke

Hello everyone,

I think I'm going in the wrong direction and I need some little hints or advise since I'm new to ECS and a bit lost...

In my game I have a lot of flowers witch are Entities, each of theses flowers have their own unique Mesh, and I need to constantly change their respective mesh created by code in order to grow them.

I thought I can change their RenderMesh in a ForEach... But It's not relly efficient because with the RenderMesh in the ForEach I must use .WithStructuralChanges().WithoutBurst().Run(); In order to make It work correctly.

What do you advise me to do? In my research I have found some stuffs about Graphics.DrawMesh, witch I'm really not famillar with... Should I look more into this direction?
    Is there a better way to do what I want (update a lot for meshes in ECS)?

Thanks a lot.

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

I would suggest 4 options.

1. Is to hide/spawn/instantiate entity with desired mesh, rather removing shared components. Probably easiest but not the fastest. Yet creating and destroying 1000s of entities takes fraction of the frame.

2. Have a mesh which is animated AMD anime it.

3. Use shader to animate growth. Possibly fastest approach.

4. Use DrawMeshInstanced / DrawMeshInstancedIndirect instead shared mesh. Then you have full control what mesh and texture you want to render.

Chmyke likes this.
  3. Chmyke

Chmyke

I will go with for solution 4, I feel more reassured thanks to your advice, It's always scary to to invest time learning new things when we don't know if it's that we really need...