Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Bug Unity Hub 3.0.0.beta1 forces a re-install of VS 2019?

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by zezba9000, Jul 9, 2021.

  1. zezba9000

    zezba9000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    The option to uncheck "Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2019" installer is disabled. Why?

    * I already have it installed.
    * What if you have enterprise installed?
    * What if you only want to use VS Code?

    This makes no sense...

    upload_2021-7-8_22-43-54.png
     
  2. Unitybyte

    Unitybyte

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2019
    Posts:
    14
    It's actually disabled because you have it installed already.
    I see this is raising a bigger UX and UI issue. Thank you for that!
     
    luthor112 and zezba9000 like this.
  3. zezba9000

    zezba9000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Posts:
    1,004
    I see, well unchecking that checkbox, disabling and showing a (Installed) text next to it would show me Unity Hub is working correctly. Otherwise I just assumed it might be a bug and could bork my VS install.
     
    luthor112 likes this.
  4. UnityPaulJ

    UnityPaulJ

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    We've received that same feedback a few times, it looks like a good candidate for a change :)
     
    zezba9000 likes this.
  5. Shizola

    Shizola

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2014
    Posts:
    486
    Please change this, it really seems like a mandatory install at the moment.
     
  6. AghaAli

    AghaAli

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Hi.Can u send me Unity Hub 3.
    thanks
     
  7. iMobCoding

    iMobCoding

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Posts:
    165
    I'll send it. Just give me your user/pass for all google accounts along with credit card and bank credentials o_O
     
    zezba9000 likes this.
  8. UnityJuju

    UnityJuju

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Posts:
    222
    Hi AghaAli
    To switch to V3, download Unity Hub then switch to Beta Channel:
    1. Click Settings (GEAR icon)
    2. Go to Advanced
    3. In the Release Channel drop-down, choose “Beta”
    4. Wait for background download. When it’s ready, you will see a message to Restart Hub to start using V3.
    To switch back to V2, repeat the steps above, but choose “Production” instead.

    For more information, please refer to the Unity Hub 2.4.4 + V3 Beta, a new beginning thread
    Also, feel free to leave your feedback in this thread