Search Unity

Unity, Flax, UE?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Zarconis, Jun 22, 2021.

1. Zarconis

Zarconis

Yes, there are quite a few threads regarding engines around and it's just bad timing on my part. I've come to the end of another UE project, have a bit of spare time on my hands and would actually like to continue with my own 3D project which has been stuck in limbo for many years.

My original RPG game was created in Unity of course and it would be a lot of work to port it all over to Unreal, also I use UE day in and day out so it feels too much like "work". Although the positive is I already know it pretty well. So, this isn't a "I've never used an engine before what should I choose thread"..

I could just vet out Unity for the next couple of months by myself but it would be quicker to ask about its current state, it seems static occlusion via umbra is still a thing (unfortunately) although I did write a dynamic occluder (which I doubt works anymore) plus I did hear musings of a DOTS based dynamic occluder but I'm not waiting around for features.

I have no clue about the current state of the rendering pipelines bar what I've read on this forum (and a short test in 2019 that didn't go all that well (buggy). Performance is a necessity and the new terrain system hopefully works well.

But what about AI, Navmesh, audio, UI, input etc? Are we still relying on asset store specials or self made work? Any improvements in the physics realm? Speaking of caveats HDRP doesn't seem to work with grass, which I can fix so not an issue, it's just how many others does it have? I was fine with built-in but apparently it isn't getting too much support, there's of course URP which I'd probably use / start with.