Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Unity 6 Preview standalone builds won't open...

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Strom_CL, May 4, 2024.

  1. Strom_CL

    Strom_CL

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    122
    I have a few projects that I have working in Unity 2022.3.24f1. I am able to run them in the editor and do standalone builds in both mono and il2cpp and both projects work fine. I just pulled down the new Unity 6 preview and was able top open both projects in the new Unity 6 version.

    I can play both games just fine in the editor but if I do a standalone build for either project using mono or il2cpp when I run the executable nothing happens. I can see the process in my task manager but nothing opens. If I try to run it again it says failed to launch process already running. I've tried with the new GPU resident drawer on and off, and doesn't seem to make a difference.

    Anyone run into this and know the fix?
     
  2. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6,416
    Could you share your player.log? And try a development build if you haven't. And build an empty or example project to see if you can't run any build or whether it's related to the project.

    There was one previous report of older editor builds working but Unity 6 builds failing to launch. If it were a serious issue though there would be far more reports. Could just be related to the usual "build fails after upgrade" because some APIs and behaviours change.
     
  3. Strom_CL

    Strom_CL

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    122
    This is my log from a mono build:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Mono path[0] = 'C:/Users/Leonard/Desktop/Survivors of Mayhem/Survivors of Mayhem 2022/Build/Survivors of Mayhem_Data/Managed'
    2. Mono config path = 'C:/Users/Leonard/Desktop/Survivors of Mayhem/Survivors of Mayhem 2022/Build/MonoBleedingEdge/etc'
    3. Initialize engine version: 6000.0.0f1 (4ff56b3ea44c)
    4. [Subsystems] Discovering subsystems at path C:/Users/Leonard/Desktop/Survivors of Mayhem/Survivors of Mayhem 2022/Build/Survivors of Mayhem_Data/UnitySubsystems
    5. kGfxThreadingModeSplitJobs is not supported on Direct3D 11. Reverting to kGfxThreadingModeClientWorkerJobs instead.
    6. GfxDevice: creating device client; kGfxThreadingModeClientWorkerJobs
    7. Direct3D:
    8.     Version:  Direct3D 11.0 [level 11.1]
    9.     Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (ID=0x2204)
    10.     Vendor:   NVIDIA
    11.     VRAM:     24326 MB
    12.     Driver:   31.0.15.5222
    13. Begin MonoManager ReloadAssembly
    14. - Loaded All Assemblies, in  4.471 seconds
    15. - Finished resetting the current domain, in  0.003 seconds
    16. [PhysX] Initialized MultithreadedTaskDispatcher with 32 workers.
    17.  
     
  4. Strom_CL

    Strom_CL

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    122
    And this is my log from the IL2CPP build:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Initialize engine version: 6000.0.0f1 (4ff56b3ea44c)
    2. [Subsystems] Discovering subsystems at path C:/Users/Leonard/Desktop/Survivors of Mayhem/Survivors of Mayhem 2022/Build/Survivors of Mayhem_Data/UnitySubsystems
    3. kGfxThreadingModeSplitJobs is not supported on Direct3D 11. Reverting to kGfxThreadingModeClientWorkerJobs instead.
    4. GfxDevice: creating device client; kGfxThreadingModeClientWorkerJobs
    5. Direct3D:
    6.     Version:  Direct3D 11.0 [level 11.1]
    7.     Renderer: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (ID=0x2204)
    8.     Vendor:   NVIDIA
    9.     VRAM:     24326 MB
    10.     Driver:   31.0.15.5222
    11. [PhysX] Initialized MultithreadedTaskDispatcher with 32 workers.
    12.  
    As you can see nothing is happening, the exe is launching and appears to be freezing after the PhysX initialization? This is running with Auto Graphics API for Windows. Below is the log where I unchecked Auto Graphics and removed Direct3D11 and added Direct3D12

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Initialize engine version: 6000.0.0f1 (4ff56b3ea44c)
    2. [Subsystems] Discovering subsystems at path C:/Users/Leonard/Desktop/Survivors of Mayhem/Survivors of Mayhem 2022/Build/Survivors of Mayhem_Data/UnitySubsystems
    3. GfxDevice: creating device client; kGfxThreadingModeSplitJobs
    4. Direct3D:
    5.     Version:         Direct3D 12 [level 12.1]
    6.     Renderer:        NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 (ID=0x2204)
    7.     Vendor:          NVIDIA
    8.     VRAM:            24326 MB
    9.     App VRAM Budget: 23558 MB
    10.     Driver:          31.0.15.5222
    11. [PhysX] Initialized MultithreadedTaskDispatcher with 32 workers.
    12.  
    It looks like the PhysX initialization or whatever happens directly after that is failing to start or finish. This is definitely not related to any deprecated API's or anything in my scripts, this looks like the Unity engine itself is just failing to initialize. I'll try a stock empty project build, which I imagine will work. Makes me thing theres some build setting that isn't playing nice with the new 6 preview.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2024
  5. simple421

    simple421

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    22
    Same. Transitioned project from 2023.2.9f1 to Unity 6, and build fails to start exactly with the log like yours.

    upd: Empty project works just fine.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2024
    Strom_CL likes this.
  6. retired_unity_saga

    retired_unity_saga

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2016
    Posts:
    290
    hey, do this and tell me your results

    1. Open project in version before alpha/beta/preview 6, and open old build settings menu
    2. save a workflow/Windows Layout (Window>>>>Layouts>>>>Save Layout...)
    3. Go back to preview 6, and load this layout, your old build settings menu should return and be available (until they remove it completely)

    test this build, see what happens

    also Unity, why the heck did you leave it in and just hide it from the menu, why not offer users both options as a setting in the menu.
     
  7. Strom_CL

    Strom_CL

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    122
    I'm not seeing the old build settings menu after loading a layout from 2022, it looks exactly like the Unity 6 build profile still. Standalone build still failing to launch, same log as before. I went through and compared build settings from an empty Unity 6 project and all the settings are the same.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2024
  8. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,702
    Can you see the .exe running in the task manager when it fails to launch? In other words, does it close or does it hang?
     
  9. simple421

    simple421

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    22
    Yes, it's hanging in the task manager.
     
  10. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,702
    Can you right click on it, press "Create dump file", put it in a zip file and send it to me via a DM?
     
  11. simple421

    simple421

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    22
    Done, sent you a Google Drive link.
     
  12. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,702
    simple421 likes this.
  13. simple421

    simple421

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Posts:
    22