Search Unity

UNET being phased out.... Help needed understanding whether Im learning something pointless

Discussion in 'UNet' started by megabrobro, Oct 13, 2018.

1. megabrobro

megabrobro

Hi all, I've been loving using and learning in Unity for about 2 or 3 years as a hobby. For the last few months I've been focusing on making my own networked game implementations. One of the top tasks I've set myself is to create games which don't need any Third Party services such as Unity Cloud Servers or Photon PUN subscription services.

I just read this: https://blogs.unity3d.com/2018/08/02/evolving-multiplayer-games-beyond-unet/ --but due to being unexperienced/knowledgable I'm not fully understanding what I am reading.

Basically, I have made a few mini-games which myself and friends have been able to connect to eachother for free. The server was a Host-Client type server and so we didnt need any Third Part CCU agreement (which IMO are way too expensive and scary contractual agreements for startup game devs such as myself).

I've been spending LOTSSSSS of time learning the UNET thing and am slowly getting to grips with how it works (still a long road ahead but I've spent probably 500-1000 hours already trying stuff directly relating to UNET).

MY MAIN QUESTION FOR NOW IS: the title of the article linked above is Evolving Multiplayer Beyond UNET , it says the HLAPI and LLAPI will no longer be included with Unity. So is this a step towards forcing Unity developers into using their Cloud services (ie. pay per month, CCU-limit based contracts (guess-work gambling on how many users we hope to get at once)).

I don't want to use Unity Matchmaking Service. My games will mostly all be Free To Play. (and/or very cheap indie games) but I still want to offer multiplayer and 100CCU is no where near enough (100CCU costs around £90 per 60 months with Pun, but to increase beyond that costs HUGE price EACH MONTH!