Search Unity

  1. Click here to see what's on sale for the "Best of Super Sale" on the Asset Store
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

There is no ParticleSystem in c# script when I disable the wind module

Discussion in '2018.3 Beta' started by watsonsong, Sep 28, 2018.

  1. watsonsong

    watsonsong

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Posts:
    392
    I am enable the particlesystem module and disable the wind module, but I can not access the particle system in the c# code anymore.
    The unity 2018.3.1b1 is OK to do this.
     
  2. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,335
    Im not sure I understand.
    What do you mean by enabling the particle system module and disabling the wind module? What do you mean by modules?

    How can you not access the c# code, do you have errors? Can you show screenshots?
     
  3. mdeletrain

    mdeletrain

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Posts:
    46
  4. karl_jones

    karl_jones

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Posts:
    4,335
    The Particle System uses the wind module in it's external forces module. So if you disable wind then it will need to also remove particles. We will look into just disabling the external forces part instead of the whole thing.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2018
  5. RadialGames

    RadialGames

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    We just ran into this problem as well - I don't recall removing Wind from our project, I believe the ugprade process had Wind disabled at first.
     
  6. bugfinders

    bugfinders

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Posts:
    208
    I think i may have disabled wind a long time back but tbh dont remember, so, it came as a shock that this solves this error - it was far from logical..
     
  7. sand_lantern

    sand_lantern

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2017
    Posts:
    169
    Along those same lines, it would be nice to at least get some notification that the wind module is needed to make particles work (Has this always been the case? I only started having troubles after updating from 2018.3.0b2 to 2018.3.0b3).

    With some of the other new features, I would get an error saying exactly which package was needed in order to fix the error. This one I just had 2 days of swearing and unfruitful google searches until I stumbled across the solution in this thread.
     
  8. UDN_08a62c30-cdb1-4e59-bb48-acda29f9e582

    UDN_08a62c30-cdb1-4e59-bb48-acda29f9e582

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    Same issue when updating from 2018.2.10f1 to 2018.2.11f1. I have ParticleSystem* reference in link.xml and it took me an hour to figure out why strip code started to strip this class after upgrade.
     
  9. richardkettlewell

    richardkettlewell

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,666
  10. korimako

    korimako

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    When I upgraded to 2018.2.13f1 I was forced to enable Wind to include ParticleSystem in code. However - with the wind module included, suddenly my carefully calibrated hinge joints went to hell :( How can I fix this without waiting for the next upgrade?
     
  11. richardkettlewell

    richardkettlewell

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,666
    You’ll need to report a bug about that
     
    karl_jones likes this.
unityunity