Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Resolved [SOLVED] Scriptable Object Comparison: Different behaviour in Editor vs Build

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by mdelacroix, Jul 5, 2023.

1. mdelacroix

mdelacroix

Hello!
    First of all, sorry if my post isn't perfect, this is my first time posting here for help.

Context: For a project I'm currently working on I decided to define UnitStats as scriptables objects (so it can contain icons, min/max values, etc...). I have a MovePointsDefinition (SO) which is used in the UnitDefinition (SO as well). UnitDefinition contains a Dictionary<StatDefinition, int> which defines the unit value for each stat (pretty self explanatory).

When spawning a Unit (not SO) I'm iterating through the stats referenced in the corresponding UnitDefinition, and store the "current" value of the stat in a Dictionary<StatDefinition, int> (so for example i would have key = MovePointsDefinition and value = 10).
    In order to facilitate access to MovePoints through code (and possibly interpreted code later on) I decided to implement a MovePoints property. In order to access MovePoints value without a direct reference to the MovePointsDefinition SO, I decided to create a SingletonSO (yes I know) which contains references to the StatDefinitions I want to access easily (bascially a Database of hard referenced StatDefinition SO).

Therefore, Unit has a Property MovePoints which basically says this:
    int MovePoints => this.statContainer[StatAccessor.Instance.MovePointsDefinition];

This works perfectly in Editor, but fail dramatically in Build, as I'm getting a
    KeyNotFoundException: The given key 'MovePointsStatDefinition' was not present in the dictionary.