Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2020.2 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] Lordenfel: Adventure Environment Pack

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by ManaStation, Aug 4, 2020.

  1. mick129

    mick129

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Posts:
    89
    I can't find the Dungeon Architect's theme inside the package, was it included or is it somewhere else?

    Great asset by the way :)
    Edit: It is also not included in DA's sample content.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
  2. nevaermorr

    nevaermorr

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi there!

    First of all, these assets look great and I can't wait to use them!

    Since it supports DunGen and Dungeon Architect - which one would be preferred/easier/better to use? I haven't used any of them and wondering which one I should get for the best compatibility and possibilities offered. I would be really grateful for pros/cons for both of them. Thanks!
     
  3. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Hey! Thanks for purchasing the pack! It's in the Prefabs\Architecture\CompleteRooms\FirstPersonDungeon
    Not that easy to find, we know. Just needed to keep it all organized.

    Thanks for your interest! :) We would love to give you some instructions here, but truth is - you're probably not gonna be disappointed by either option. They both work really well. As for the feature set - we can't possibly cover every important detail here. The publishers did a great job of explaining it all, so please consider checking their pages - you'll get a much better picture.
     
    mick129 likes this.
  4. mick129

    mick129

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Posts:
    89
    It work great and this us a huge time saver thanks!
    All I need is to tweak a bit so it remain nice from outside
     
  5. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Awesome, glad it works for you!
    Thanks a lot for the review! We appreciate the support! :)
     
    mick129 likes this.
  6. alan_dale

    alan_dale

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    The assets are really gorgeous, I love them!
    One possible issue though: Unity complains that many of them have overlapping UVs, which might cause issues with light maps.
     
  7. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks a lot! :)
    Yeah, Unity does that. Don't worry, we've tweaked the settings manually. Sad news is Unity hates LODs when it comes to GI, and you'll have to wait a long time for the bake to complete. We suggest just using real time model for now.
     
  8. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    After evaluating the asset store description I went with Dungeon Architect, it seems the much more powerful option. I just tried the latest Dungeon Architect version with latest Lordenfel version and noticed some problems:

    Missing script:

    da1.png

    Walls don't align:

    da2.jpg

    That's the problem of Dungeon Architect, isn't it?

    And a feature request: I've seen that you can also create a Stronghold, at least there's an example scene for that in Dungeon Architect. I think it would be super awesome for everyone if you could create such an example scene with Lordenfel. Just as a start for everyone :)

    Thank you very much for the consideration!
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2020
  9. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Hey man! :) Yeah, we've even put a warning in the description saying this might happen with certain seed numbers.

    We've discussed this over email a bit, I'm just gonna repeat it here for everybody - you can lower "Collision Test Contraction", but you would be trading one problem for the other - at the value of 14, DA will stop generating dungeons at certain seeds at all. And it's still gonna overlap sometimes. If you're using it for offline generation, it's not a problem, but kind of an issue for runtime.

    Thanks, we'll look into it! :)
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  10. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    320
    I've been having some fun playing around with the DunGen implementation:



    I'm curious to know if there are any future plans for the asset, so I can decide what to spend my time on. My thoughts are similar to @Rowlan that it would be nice to have some outdoor prefabs to help with creating things like strongholds. But honestly if you did nothing else to this asset it is more than worth it :)
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  11. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Actually, we've been discussing this here as well. We're talking about large fortified walls and towers, right?
    Good news is, there are battlements and buttresses already in the pack. And we'll consider adding large structures and presets. I really can't make promises, though :)

    Thanks a lot for the video btw! :)
     
    camta005 and Rowlan like this.
  12. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    In case anyone tries 2020.2.0f1 with HDRP 10.2.2 and wonders about some weird shadowing / shine-through while you move the camera, it's caused by Ambient Occlusion -> Temporal Accumulation. Disable it and you're fine.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2020
    ManaStation and camta005 like this.
  13. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    I thought I'd remove the backdrop mountains and add an ocean and stuff :D

     
    dmenefee and ManaStation like this.
  14. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks for the tip, man! I've tried it just now - for me, it happens if I have both Game and Scene views visible at the same time. Weird...

    Wow, this is wonderful! The sea kinda changes the perception of the whole scene, doesn't it? Good job on the surrounding cliffs too, they make all the difference! Thanks a lot for doing this! :)
     
  15. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    That might actually explain what's happening. Gonna file a bug report with Unity.

    It's you publisher's assets, I just mixed them. I'm severly impressed by the performance. I didn't expect it to be that good :)
     
  16. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Yeah, your monster video card is actually an overkill here :)
     
  17. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    ManaStation likes this.
  18. camta005

    camta005

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2016
    Posts:
    320
    I've been looking at this error. The problem is the World to Local in Torch_Fire_VFX_01:

    upload_2020-12-21_2-21-36.png

    Removing it seems to fix the error.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2020
    ManaStation and Rowlan like this.
  19. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Oh, thanks a lot! Made a note to fix this :)
     
    camta005 likes this.
  20. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    I found a very nice combination of assets for the Lordenfel Dungeons: Spiderweb Generator and Camel Spider Monster

    At first it started like this:

    spider 01.jpg
    but then I couldn't stop duplicating and rescaling

    big boss.jpg
    and the big boss is now that

    real big boss.jpg
    :D

    I'm really impressed with the fact that this is all Standard Pipeline :)
     
    ManaStation likes this.
  21. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    Yeah, that wasn't enough. I just painted more :D

    Lordenfel Boss Room:

    nest.jpg
     
    camta005, ManaStation and KeithBrown like this.
  22. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Thank you for these, @Rowlan! Looks like a scene from a classic RPG! We need a good fire spell here, I think. There's probably just the right scroll lying around :)

    I though that might be the standard pipeline :) Yeah, we managed to get a good lighting in standard as well, but it wasn't always the case. The trick is to get the lighting right in HDRP, after that it's much easier to reproduce it in Standard. This helps with URP as well.
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  23. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,746
    It was so much fun to toy around and a fire spell won't cut it anymore :D

    scene 01.jpg
    A feature request please: It would be really handy if you could put all the gameobjects into a dedicated gameobject. It's just too much to extend the demo scene, ie you lose the overview. ie like this, I always have to wrap them manually into a gameobject (Dungeon Rooms) with the default transform:

    rooms.png

    The dungeons is easy, but the demo with the castle just takes some time to pick all of the gameobjects and move them. Same for reflection probes etc. Just some default categorization to get yourself started out of the box would be handy.
     
  24. ManaStation

    ManaStation

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    OMG... You shall not pass indeed :) Look at this nightmare...

    Thanks! Made a note for the next update.
     
unityunity