Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Raytrace Materials invisible from distance

Discussion in 'High Definition Render Pipeline' started by MumenRaidaa, Jan 11, 2021.

1. MumenRaidaa

MumenRaidaa

Hello everyone,

I am somewhat new to Unity especially when it comes to using HDRP. I have created a HDRP/DXR Scene and imported a Blender File as fbx. I also downloaded an Asset from the Asset Store called Retro Cartoon Car Cicada. Now I have a problem with the materials. Whenever I zoom out too far with the camera or scene view the car and all new HDRP/Lit Materials I created become "invisible" and make everything behind it see through. I noticed that it always happens with Materials which have raytracing as rendering pass.

Here in the first Picture you can see the blue sky and yellow ground instead of the Mountains which are currently behind the house. Same with the car you will see through the ground that is under the car.

unityOne.PNG

And here in the second picture you can see how it should look like when I am close enough to the object.

unityTwo.PNG

Appreciate any help. Thank you

Last edited: Jan 11, 2021
  2. chap-unity

chap-unity

Unity Technologies

Hello @MumenRaidaa, I'm going to assume that you are using 8.x.x HDRP package (or lower).

In those versions, the only reason to put any object in the ray tracing pass is if you want them to be rendered using recursive rendering (a ray tracing feature). This feature is supposed to be used on a very small amount of objects in your scene (because of cost) and is mostly meant to be used for transparent objects, like headlight of cars, that require a a lot of bounces to be rendered accurately.