Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Raycasting not working properly

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Mohamed-Moustafa, Nov 16, 2019.

1. Mohamed-Moustafa

Mohamed-Moustafa

I am new to games programming.
    I want to cast a ray down from an object that will only detect colliders in the third layer (Background, Default, Player, Foreground).

I am using this script:

Code (CSharp):
    2. Vector2 raydown = transform.TransformDirection(-Vector3.up);
    3. int layerMask = 1<<3;
    4. if (Physics.Raycast(transform.position, raydown, 10, layerMask)){
    5.       Debug.Log("There is something in front of the object!");
    6.       pm.EndLevel();
    7.   }
    But for some reason, the if condition is never true.

2. Emolk

Emolk

Is your game in 2D? If so, you need to use a 2D raycast.

Try the below code:

Code (CSharp):
    2. Vector2 raydown = -transform.up;
    3. int layerMask = 1<<3;
    4. if (Physics.Raycast2D(transform.position, raydown, 10, layerMask)){
    5.       Debug.Log("There is something in front of the object!");
    6.       pm.EndLevel();
    7.   }
    Also you can set a LayerMask as a variable in a class, then select the layers from the inspector which is much easier to use.

3. Mohamed-Moustafa

Mohamed-Moustafa

tried it, doesnt work properly. If I dont use layer mask it works fine tho. I have 4 layers (background,default,player,foreground), is using 1<<3 to select "player" layer incorrect?

4. Emolk

Emolk