Search Unity

Third Party Question on Mirror/Unity Network integration

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by gtramnull, May 22, 2020.

1. gtramnull

gtramnull

Greetings everyone,

First of all, I'm new to unity's network layer/HLAPI concepts and all that jazz.
    I've been playing with Mirror (which looks slick tbh. Kudos!) but have been struggling to understand the concept of multiplayer as a whole.

Here's the scenario:
    - 2-player game, one mobile device as a host
    - 2nd player connects to 1st player's device

I've been reading up on Mirror examples but they all seem to sample its own matchmaking/lobby feature all across, which is defaulted to localhost. I did get it to work giving the Network Address in NetworkManager a static one (which is my computer's IP) but I still don't seem to understand how that "localhost" becomes the actual IP address that the 2nd player's device will be connecting to once the game is live. Before, I suppose, Unity had (or still has) a cloud service called Multiplayer where you'd hook things up (as in UNET + Multiplayer service). Now, given that scenario, will I have to have some sort of cloud service(AWS or something) to be able to achieve that using Mirror?

Sorry if my question is bit convoluted but I'm trying my best to be as clear as possible and I would reaaaaally appreciate any help.

Cheers!

Imated and MilenaRocha like this.
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Examples for many networking solutions use localhost or 127.0.0.1 because generally you do your first testing by connecting on your own computer, and it removes other potential problems from the mix which aren't actually related to the networking API itself. Specifically firewalls and potential NAT issues. Besides those issues, technically all you have to do is type the actual IP address of the host in where it currently has localhost.

3. u-doug

u-doug