Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Question About Namespaces

Discussion in 'Code Editors & IDEs' started by DougDemon, Apr 1, 2024.

1. DougDemon

DougDemon

Hello, I am a Unity Newbie but I've created a few full projects (Mostly based on demos). My question is about the namespaces identified at the top of a newly created C# script. I have never experimented with using any namespaces outside of the default ones it provides, but I've ran into problems when building my games that have to do with unidentified namespaces in my scripts. For example, I just built a project and got a failed result because "using UnityEditor.SearchService;" was at the top of the one script in the program. I deleted that line and the project build normally. Another example is "using UnityEditor.Build.Content;". My question is, why was that there in the first place? My other scripts usually build fine, but this has happened multiple times with different unidentified namespaces. I don't understand why namespaces that prevent my project from building just occasionally pop up in my scripts. I'm using Visual Studio by the way.

Last edited: Apr 1, 2024
  2. Spy-Master

Spy-Master