Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Planets Earth, Mars and the Moon Shaders

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by vercetty00, May 15, 2014.

  1. vercetty00

    vercetty00

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Hi Vincent,
    Seems like an OpenGL problem, I guess you're using Linux or Mac ?
    I'll take a look
     
  2. vercetty00

    vercetty00

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Hi again,
    Well I'm sorry but it seems that, when the editor is in openGL mode, it struggles to compile when we we try to add several textures into one surface property (like albedo), as the 16k shader does with 4 textures. It compiles well with 2 texture, but with 3, errors start to appear,
    I tried several things with no success, so if you can't put your unity editor in directX mode I'm ok to process a refund.
     
  3. VincentMarin

    VincentMarin

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Hi!
    Yes I'm using a mac for development, but don't worry, for dev I will use the 8k version. I will use a PC with DirectX for the final export so at this time I will use the 16k version.
    Don't worry for a refund, you did a good job, and the price it is not so expensive... ;-)
    Thanks for your quick answer.

    Vincent
     
  4. TrickiDicki

    TrickiDicki

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    What are the dimensions of the earth sphere?
     
  5. vercetty00

    vercetty00

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Hi,
    It has a dimension of 2000 out of the box but you can change it to whatever you want (before loading) ,it'll work.
    Best regards.
     
  6. Prashanth17

    Prashanth17

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    I'm trying to get this working with the updated point light script, but now the night lights don't disappear when they hit the lit side. Any idea how to get this working?

    Thanks!
     
  7. vercetty00

    vercetty00

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Hi,

    Sorry for your troubles,
    I just tried again to be sure, I haven't be able to reproduce your problem, except some flickering when I select Ground and Cloud objects within the hierarchy view.
    Can you try disabling these both scripts (inside the planet earth object, during run time or directly on the prefabs) and see what happens ?:
    Ground > Earth Movments
    Cloud > Earth Movments

    Best Regards
     
  8. akareactor

    akareactor

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    108
    I believe, there's some errors in Atmo.cs in line 29:

    float radius = transform.localScale.x;

    and line 69:

    mat.SetVector("v3Translate", transform.localPosition);

    It should be

    float radius = transform.lossyScale.x;

    and

    mat.SetVector("v3Translate", transform.position);

    respectively.
     
    MPMPrudencio likes this.
  9. akareactor

    akareactor

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Posts:
    108
    Another issue for Atmo.cs

    Changing

    mat.SetVector("v3LightPos", m_sun.transform.forward*-1.0f);

    to

    mat.SetVector("v3LightPos", (m_sun.transform.position - transform.position).normalized);

    making script usable with point light, not only directed light.
     
    MPMPrudencio likes this.
  10. MPMPrudencio

    MPMPrudencio

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Guys a little help here! My Sun is being rendering through the walls I don't know why... my light is far away from the walls, any idea for fix it? I'm using Unity 2017 Pro. Thanks in advance!
     

    Attached Files:

    • Sun.jpg
      Sun.jpg
      File size:
      227.9 KB
      Views:
      781
  11. DreamerYinYu

    DreamerYinYu

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Posts:
    21
    Hello, I try to use the Earth on Android, but it takes up a lot of memory. How can I optimize it?Thank you.
     
  12. hello_unity457

    hello_unity457

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,

    I bought your asset and it is really good. But we are using it for Hololens and my client is saying the ATMOSPHERE shader doesn't appear in both eye so it needs single pass instancing. However, the other shaders don't. Are you familiar with this?
     
  13. cosmochristo

    cosmochristo

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2018
    Posts:
    251
    Hi, I can't find in the documentation what scale the planets are: are they modelled at true scale (in meters) or much smaller?
     
  14. Rod-Galvao

    Rod-Galvao

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Posts:
    210
    Could you update it to work on HDRP?