Search Unity

Third Party [Photon] 2 players on one client? / MP testing in general

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by bluescrn, Feb 6, 2016.

  1. bluescrn

    bluescrn

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Posts:
    642
    Hi,

    Just reading up on Photon (and other networking options).

    It is possible with Photon to have two players connected (two separate connections to a room) from one client?

    Just wondering if it's possible to build a 'development mode' that runs two or more instances of the game in the Unity editor, split screen, for rapid development/testing? - it looks like Photon relies heavily on a static PhotonNetwork class - can't see an obvious way to create multiple instances of that?

    How are people generally testing their multiplayer games? - I remember there being some sort of workaround to run multiple instances of the Unity editor with the same project open? - is this still doable, and is it reliable?
     
  2. tobiass

    tobiass

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3,072
    PUN does not allow 2 connections from one player.
    You could run multiple instances on one machine and test that way. I usually run a standalone build and in-Editor for development.
    While this seems unwieldy, it also means you don't run into all the other issues you get when you run 2 players in one instance. You have to be able to switch (reliably), show any current state, whenever you switch, etc.. I can not really recommend going that route, especially, if that's not part of the final game design.
    To make things a little more bearable, I would (e.g.) implement a shortcut that automatically gets you into a room/match, so you don't have to click several times to get a match. Also, maybe you can come up with shortcuts for specific situations to test, etc.
     
  3. alonsoGarrote

    alonsoGarrote

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Posts:
    25
    Hi tobiass,
    I have two PCs, If I have Unity 5.x on both, each with the same project, each using the same AppID from Photon Console, will I be able to see console messages between both players from the same game/room on both Unity editors?, is it possible to connect to the same game from two Unity editors?,
    Regards,
     
  4. tobiass

    tobiass

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3,072
    Yes, that's not a problem at all.
     
  5. yeronimo

    yeronimo

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, as alonsoGarrote wrote, I have two PCs / unity 2017.4.3 / same project on both from collaborate/ same photon app id (pun v2). When I`m trying join to same room on both pcs in editor both of them are creating new room/game not matching each other to the same room. But when I build&run on one of them and on other play in editor mode everything works fine. Question: "is it possible to connect to the same game from two Unity editor" or what I`m doing wrong ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2018
  6. tobiass

    tobiass

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3,072
    @yeronimo: There is no built-in limit that prevents joining a room from multiple Editor instances. All clients are more or less the same, no matter which platform (or Editor).
    Have a look at the checklist for matchmaking problems. If none of that helps, mail us more about the case: developer@photonengine.com. In that case, make sure to run the SupportLogger for additional output in the console and include the logs in the mail. It may help in either case.