Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 beta is now available.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We're looking for insight from anyone who has experience with game testing to help us better Unity. Take our survey here. If chosen to participate you'll be entered into a sweepstake to win an Amazon gift card.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Open a point cloud

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by henabene, Feb 11, 2019 at 10:37 AM.

  1. henabene

    henabene

    Joined:
    Monday
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    Could anyone know how to open a point cloud into Unity 2018 ?
    I'm trying to change the point cloud of a tutorial project to put mine in but it doesn't work....
    I really need help, I'm using unity for a school project and I don't know how to use it.

    Thanks !
     
  2. Schneider21

    Schneider21

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,826
    Welcome.

    If you don't know how to use Unity, there's not a ton we can do for you directly. We'd be telling you to open this window, or check out this value, and you'd be totally lost. You'd be best served by going through the tutorials and learning how to use the tool first.
     
  3. henabene

    henabene

    Joined:
    Monday
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you for your answer Scheneider 21.
    I don't know how to use it well* :oops::oops:
    I did these tutorials and other tutorials found on internet, but I can't see my mistakes that prevent me to open my point cloud into Unity...
     
  4. Schneider21

    Schneider21

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,826
    Well you've said it doesn't work. What does that mean? What part isn't working? What all have you tried? Are you getting console errors?

    The more information you give us, the more we can give you.
     
  5. Kiwasi

    Kiwasi

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Posts:
    16,172
    What does "open a point cloud" actually mean? Point clouds are not standard data structures, you normally have to implement them yourself.

    In practice, point clouds aren't that useful for games, we tend to prefer meshes. At best point clouds provide raw data which is then turned into a mesh for use in the game.
     
  6. henabene

    henabene

    Joined:
    Monday
    Posts:
    4
    When I try to drag and drop my point cloud into the scene, I should see it on my scene but I see nothing, it says that I'm not allowed to do that.
    I have to use a point cloud, this is the point cloud file given by the teacher...

    When I said that I want to open a point cloud, I mean I want to see it in the scene view.
     
  7. henabene

    henabene

    Joined:
    Monday
    Posts:
    4