Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Not Able To change bool,float,trigger or anything in animator using UI Button!.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by HBK_, Dec 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HBK_

HBK_

Hi, I'm much of a noob here so,i have animations set in my animator and animator component attached to the Player and conditions set in animator...my problem is i wanna trigger,set bools etc..make transition from idel animation to fire using the button.....I tried everything from using the event system to play a string to scripting and nothing worked...but when i put the anim.SetTrigger("Fire"); it works when i assign it to keyboard input it again works but when i put the same code to my Fire Script which gets executed when i press the button...the script gets called and the anim.SetTrigger("Fire") gets called in debug but nothing happens it doesn't trigger the Fire trigger which will make the transition....i even tried to make bools inside the script so when the fire thing gets called set the bool to true which will trigger the anim.SetTrigger("Fire"); in update but nothing happened at all.

i also tried putting animator component in UI Button's OnClick() and made scripts with public so that they can be called by OnClick() but nothing happened again!.....

Any Help Will Be Appreciated...

2. fire7side

fire7side

Are you sure you aren't getting an error in the console?

3. HBK_

HBK_

Yeap! 100% sure.....been staring at him for like 2 days hoping to get some error but nothing!

4. methos5k

methos5k

Having a public method that is called from the Button's OnClick event should work, no problem.