Search Unity

1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only. On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live. Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

NOOB QUESTION: How to make multiplayer game

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by x10z, Dec 17, 2009.

1. x10z

x10z

Well guys, I would really appreciate if you could guide me here.

I guess have I have a good coding background, I've been able to make every single thing I wanted with unity so far... but when it comes to Online Multiplayer, server-side, and everything that's related, I'm a total NOOB! 8)

Well, I've been making a turn based multiplayer game for the iphone , I've made A.I. for it , I've made it playable for two players on the same device, and everything... now it's time to get the online multiplayer working :cry:

What do I need ? Where should I start ? I've read something about smartfox or something like that but I have no idea what it does other than the fact that it is an API that works with unity.

So what do I need ? Take me as a REALLY IGNORANT person here, because that's pretty much what I am when it comes to multiplayer.

Help me PLEASE :D

2. Jacob-Williams

Jacob-Williams

Leepo, one of the community members, has posted an incredible networking tutorial. This should be more than enough to get you started. You can find it here.

3. x10z

x10z

Thanks a lot man!! Very good! But I still have a problem, maybe the biggest doubt out of them all ... what do I need in terms of server... I want a master server where multiple clients connect and host games and choose where to join and all that kinda stuff ... I need a server.... like a webpage.... that hosts that ... right ? Im lost please help me here lol

4. Dano

Dano