Search Unity

New NPC Character Discussion: Blake (The BunBun)

Discussion in 'Open Projects' started by roxioxx, Oct 4, 2020.

1. roxioxx

roxioxx

Howdy. This is my first time posting in a forum in years, but after reading ALL the art threads, I think it's safe to post stuff for discussion purposes. I'm a hybrid artist/developer so I'm not excellent at either, but I know the full pipeline as I have created fully animated characters for my own personal games. For my fellow artists, it would be wise to not do what I did and already create a character because... well, things can change. And, I personally am fine with completely starting over or tossing this character into the recycling bin and contributing perhaps something else. That should be a good enough of a disclaimer.

Now, let me introduce to you: Blake!

ca-02.jpg bunbun02.png bunbun02b.png bunbun02c.png

The name could be changed, but for Blake, the main thing I want to get across is he is your rival (you being the pig chef). He is more physically fit than you. He has more women giving him kisses than you. And, He's a chef, too. He's come to this island in search of an ingredient that will make the best, spicy carrot cake in the world.

I was thinking for the narrative, so that the story doesn't seem too linear, is that at one point, you (the pig chef) think they are going for the same item he is. You both race/battle, and in the end, you beat your rival, only to find out the prize--the eastern Nebraskan murder pepper (name TBD)--is not the taste you were looking for. So even when you win, you still lose, and you really really really hate this rival guy.

As a consumer of anime/manga/video games, I love having characters that I can hate and for this short story, I think this kind of a element would bring some emotional connection to the players, much like how people who played the first Pokemon games hate Blue to this day, but in a loving way (does that make sense)?