Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Bug Multiple issues and question of compiling VR game

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Ciberdead, May 23, 2024.

1. Ciberdead

Ciberdead

Hi,
    I'll try to be as comprehensive as possible, ask any information that needed. Also I am not an expert in VR stuff, Android or Unity, I am a student and I'm starting to leave the learning stage to make serious stuff.

# Context

First a bit of context, I've been creating a VR game/POC which include some assets brought as well as using the VR base template of the UnityHub.

# Project specifications

- Project directory : 12 GB ( The actual project is way less, i assume its due to Unity's files and unused assets and textures)
    - Unity Version : 2022.3.26f1
    - VR headset target : Meta quest 2
    - Render pipeline : URP

# Computer specifications

- CPU : Intel Core i7-10700 2.90GHz
    - Memory : 16 GB 2933Mhz SODIMM
    - GPU : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 TI
    - Disk : CA-8D1024-Q11 NVMe SSSTC 1TB

# During compilation usage

As expected from a compilation process the RAM and mostly the CPU are bound.

upload_2024-5-23_14-44-31.png

# Issues

## Long building process

For my project that is a bit small, the compilation process goes to 2.5 hours where nothing is possible in the computer, and mostly for the process of compiling variants with URP as shown in the screenshot bellow.

upload_2024-5-23_14-34-24.png

## Maximum sampler

I've also had an issue with getting a maximum sample exceeded when building the project as shown bellow :
    Shader error in 'Universal Render Pipeline/Lit': maximum ps_5_0 sampler register index (16) exceeded at