Search Unity

Multi-player and multi-matches online game

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by wunderwuzzi, Apr 3, 2020.

1. wunderwuzzi

wunderwuzzi

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to multi-player games, and looked but haven't found a discussion around this topic, although I think it must be a common challenge... which might mean I'm not using the correct terminology, but let me explain the challenge I'm having.

I'm working on my first multiplayer game (2 players compete in one match) and got everything working pretty nicely to host a single instance of the game using Mirror. I'm hosting my server instance on a Linux VM in AWS, pretty nice and straightforward.

What I'm wondering now is how to best support multiple matches running at the same time (e.g. host the same room x times) to support more players. One match only has two players, but I'd like to have let's say 10 matches running at the same time.

Is the typical solution to host a "dispatch" server game which just creates instances of the actual game (on new ports) and then matches players and redirects them to the newly created instance? Since this might be a bit of a waste of resources (like good old cgi on webservers), I was wondering if there are other design patterns using Mirror.

Are there any programming patterns or examples to such multi-instance games this with Unity/Mirror?
    Is it possible to have multiple scenes running at the same time with Unity (server mode)?
    Whats a good way to solve this problem?

Thanks for any suggestions or feedback,
    -- JR

2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored