Search Unity

Modeling a scene

Discussion in 'World Building' started by Bokaii, Sep 20, 2018.

1. Bokaii

Bokaii

Hi there,
    I'm currently working on a one-scene first person game, and I'm trying to model the scene.
    The problem I'm having is that I find it difficult to wrap my head around actually modelling the entire scene. I use blender3d to model, and I can model smaller assets fairly well (in my own opinion), but whenever I try to model a full scene, I always seem to get stuck early on.

In this game I'm trying to model a jungle temple (the interior). I made the entrance which looks okay, but from there I just seem to get stuck. I have an idea of the layout of the temple, but any attempt have resultet it me giving up because it's just not right.

I'm a programmer and not a designer/artist. Does anyone have any tips on how to proceed? Any tutorials on game level design for unity?

Most of the tutorials I've found are speed level designs with a static camera, and they don't help at all...

2. gabrielw_unity

gabrielw_unity

Unity Technologies

Hi! Since you are doing level design at this point in the project, I'd recommend a purpose-built tool like ProBuilder or RealtimeCSG. A few benefits to this method:

1. Simpler tools, easier to learn and use, but the concepts and skills transfer to Blender/Max/etc fine
    2. In-Unity means you see your level in-game as you build it, can playtest anytime, no import/export etc

I think you'll genuinely have fun building this way :)

As an old, but still relevant, example, here is a set of tutorials building DOOM E1M1 in Unity, with ProBuilder:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/doo...tyle-webplayer-10-part-video-tutorial.237485/

...and the newer tools make that even simpler! Built the first section, just for fun, in about 30 minutes:
    upload_2018-9-20_9-34-45.png

3. Bokaii

Bokaii

First off: Thank you for you answer @gabrielw_unity .