Search Unity

Discussion MMO Server with Unity?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by ronicec, Mar 10, 2023.

1. ronicec

ronicec

Hello everybody,
    I believe this topic has already been discussed at some point here, however, I could not find something that takes into account my doubt.

I've been designing an MMO model for a few years now, which for me would be "perfect", that said, I decided to start my prototype now and, analyzing the scenario, Unity seems to me to be much more "robust" in terms of development.

I've been a developer for +10 years using PHP and Node, and recently I've been studying the C++ language even to apply it to Unity.

Well I have some doubts..
    - Which database is recommended? (I particularly like Mysql and Postgresql but thinking of an MMO that may have many records to choose from)

- For the server I develop everything using Unity? Or do I need to create a separate project to just get the server logic? How would this work?

- I've seen some video classes on the internet and everyone I've seen uses Unity for the client + server, but I couldn't understand how the connections to the database are and so on.

Anyway, I would like to ask for a suggestion for course indications or something related to these doubts that I pointed out, I want to go deeper and study this tool more to be able to get my project off the ground.

I appreciate everyone's help in advance.

2. CodeSmile

CodeSmile

Any will do for now. You can always migrate later on.
    The thing is: if this is your only question regarding databases and your first MMO project, you just have to get it going. It simply doesn't matter which database you choose so pick the one you're comfortable with. It should be the least of your concern for now.

Depends on the game!