Search Unity

Third Party Mirror Multi-Player Deployment Strategy

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by chris-tdc, Dec 29, 2020.

1. chris-tdc

chris-tdc

I'm new to Unity and developing a multi-player game with the following Use Case: A single Presenter has a VR Headset connected to a laptop and runs the game, they join as a client. Multiple Viewers use their web browser to navigate to a URL and join the game as clients. The Viewers will view the game as seen through the eyes of the Presenter, they have no interaction (at this stage).

My current approach is as follows: My Unity game uses Mirror for network communication. I have set the NetworkManager's Transport to Simple Web Transport (WebSockets). I performed a WebGL build and copied it to my web server and configured IIS to host this. I performed a Standalone Windows build and also copied it to my web server. I run the Windows build .exe file on my web server which will act as my server. Web browser clients connect to the WebGL build hosted in IIS.

Does this seem correct in principal please?

2. BetaMark

BetaMark

Is your game built with a dedicated server model? If so, how does your "Presenter" player authenticate and get authorized to be the one interacting with the game state inside of the dedicated server running on your windows box when the "Multiple Viewers" are only authorized for "view only"?