Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Question Mesh Layer Mask?

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by daleo-dorito, May 11, 2024.

1. daleo-dorito

daleo-dorito

So... I am kinda like really new to this stuff, specially I am a total noob on shaders, and I am pretty sure this should be done with a shader and I know you can like give a material alpha 0 to make it virtually invisible if its coordinate is like higher than X number for example. But is there a way to do this dinamically?

Is there a way to make sorta of a sprite mask but with 3d meshes? I would love to be able to tag certain meshes or colliders as "Layer Masks" and make the objects dissapear when they are inside them.

Just a visual clarification. My question is: Is there a way to make the part of the grey cube inside that collider to have alpha 0?

As I said, I am a total noob so... if I need some like raycast shenanigans or complex shader coding I am not going to grasp it very well so sry in advance

2. halley

halley

You can make a shader that takes in the coordinates of your box or sphere or other simple shape, and then refuse to draw anything that is inside that volume. A few caveats: it wouldn't support a complex shape very easily, it won't fill in the hole on the side of the cutout area (e.g., your gray box would become a gray paperbag open on the cut side), and everything that you want to cut out would need to use that shader (e.g., the shader would go on the gray box).