Search Unity

[LLAPI] [SOLVED] How to use second level of UNet API to handle messages?

Discussion in 'UNet' started by Inaetaru, Jun 21, 2017.

1. Inaetaru

Inaetaru

After a lots of struggle with HLAPI I decided to use LLAPI. I studied items from following chart and I decided that second level (Messaging & Serialization) is the best for me.

I use Transport to create server and clients and to connect them. Then I want to use Connection (+ Reader and Writer) to handle connections and messages. However every time I call RegisterHandler on Connection instance, it causes null reference exception.

From UNet source code, I found out that the null object is (probably) m_MessageHandlers in Connection class. However, I wasn't able to find any way how to set a value to it. All I was able to find are calls using NetworkClient and NetworkServer - but I don't want to use this, third, level.

So, the question is: can I use Connection's handling messages without NetworkClient and NetworkServer? [edit: and if yes, how?]

EDIT - SOLUTION
    :

No, we can't. See post bellow.

Continuation of original post:

Now, what follows is usual list of details about my project;

How I create server
    • Create a host using NetworkTransport.AddHost
    • Receive events using NetworkTransport.ReceiveFromHost
    • When I receive a ConnectEvent, I create new Connection instance
    • Call Connection.Initialize using data from NetworkTransport.GetConnectionInfo
    • Call Connection.RegisterHandler - null reference exception
    How I create client
    • Create host using NetworkTransport.AddHost
    • Connect to server with NetworkTransport.Connect
    • Receive events using NetworkTransport.ReceiveFromHost
    • When I receive a ConnectEvent, I create new Connection instance (if the connection id is same as returned from NetworkTransport.Connect - otherwise, disconnect)
    • Call Connection.Initialize using data from NetworkTransport.GetConnectionInfo