Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Landscape Builder 2 - Procedural Terrains, U2019.1 Support, Prefab System and much more

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by sstrong, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. docsavage

    docsavage

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Posts:
    966
    Been playing about with the latest beta version. This asset is just getting better and better. The object system is really nice.

    Can't recommend this asset enough.
     
  2. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Landscape Builder 2 Workflow Basics - create a landscape in less than 5 minutes

     
  3. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Landscape Builder 2 Object Path - creating a bridge

     
  4. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Landscape Builder 2.1.0

    It has been some time in coming, but we've finally submitted 2.1.0 to Unity for approval to release. There is a lot of new content in this release.

    [NEW] Topography Image Modifiers - 4 new realworld valleys
    [NEW] Topography - support for GMRT GeoTIFF underwater heightmap data
    [NEW] Path GPU acceleration (Experimental) 100X FASTER for MapPath Create Map Texture
    [NEW] Path GPU acceleration (Experimental) 5X FASTER for Topography MapPath Layer
    [NEW] Final Pass Smoothing on GPU is 30X FASTER
    [NEW] Groups - Make walkways, trails and paths in Groups using Object Path
    [NEW] Groups - Object Path Series - Add multiple sets of prefabs along a path with various rules
    [NEW] Stencil - import psd, tif, or jpg textures into a new stencil layer from the assets folder
    [NEW] Automatically remove undo files > 7 days old
    [NEW] Runtime sample (#7) that includes new Object Path on GPU
    [NEW] Camera Path - import path points from Group Object Path
    [NEW] Vegetation Studio Pro integration - Remove grass from Group Object Paths
    [FIXED] Compute shader (LBCSTopo): Property (stencilLayer128Tex2DArray) at kernel index (1) is not set
    [FIXED] Compute shader (LBCSTopo): Property (modifierCurves) at kernel index (1) is not set
    [FIXED] LBIntegration.VegetationStudioProEnable - could not get type VegetationSystemPro
    [FIXED] Vegetation Studio Pro Integration - Trees duplicated with (I)nsert are not rendered
    [FIXED] Vegetation Studio Pro Integration - Trees are not snapped to terrain with Groups flatten
    [FIXED] MicroSplat integration - Terrain Settings Config and Shader buttons have no effect
    [FIXED] Topography Image Modifier - scene picker not updated when Invert enabled or disabled
    [FIXED] Topography - Stencil Layer Filters only work on one Layer when GPU Acceleration is enabled
    [FIXED] Template - image modifier may be incorrect if destination landscape has different start position
    [FIXED] Template - Topography Layer Filters are not saved or restored with Templates
    [FIXED] Template - Object Path positions are incorrect when the target landscape is a different size
    [FIXED] Create New Landscape - grass wind settings are not updated
    [FIXED] DemoScene - ExecuteMenuItem failed because there is no menu named Edit/Settings
    [FIXED] Add Texture and Assign Textures from Preset does not turn off Disable All Textures
    [FIXED] Position MainCamera to Scene View incorrectly adjusts the MainCamera Viewport Rect
    [FIXED] Groups - Available textures are not updated when a new landscape is created
    [FIXED] Groups - Object Paths in Uniform Groups ignore the landscape Start Position
    [FIXED] Group Designer - changing Object Path properties can remove selected objects
    [FIXED] Group Designer - opening it does not first close Object Path Designer in another Group
    [IMPROVED] GPU Acceleration Topography, Texturing, and Grass moved from Experimental to Preview
    [IMPROVED] Templates - option to not import terrain settings into existing landscape
    [IMPROVED] Compatibility with R.A.M. v1.6.0
    [IMPROVED] RTP Integration - synchronising Textures in LB Editor
    [IMPROVED] Groups - new button to estimate the area to flatten under a prefab
    [IMPROVED] LBImageFX - Distance Fog considers user-defined water level
    [IMPROVED] Set global grass (detail) density in Terrain Settings on Landscape tab
    [IMPROVED] 2019.1 compatibility
     
  5. DavidJares

    DavidJares

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    23
    Hello. I am new here. It Took me 15 Minutes to get covinced to buy :D. ( I own gaia, Map Magic, TC2, and today I bought Mercator, which I probably would have saved if I saw LB2 earlier ) . All of the earlier ones, while capable of producing nice stuff are not really inviting to use. It is always kind of "work" and the results are not as easy to produce something that you intended. ( although I did not try Mercator yet). By the way what hooked my to jump in were the long term support, the streamlined and headache-free editor-UI & its workflow, and the realistic looking terrains. It produces quite nice hillsides etc. The other tools alway lean towars a very noisy nature. This one does seem to be much more on the "natural" side of nature. I also bought "Digger" today and am very curious how they will work together. I am looking forwards to using this and just wanted to say Hello. I am Happy to join the Community.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  6. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Hey David, welcome to the forum. As you might have seen above, there is a big update coming to the store shortly. There is also a dedicated beta forum. Customers have the option to sign up to the beta program if they would like early access to new features. Many of our new features come from customers working on games and needing new or enhanced functionality.

    Here is how to sign up to the Beta Program if you need that.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  7. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Landscape Builder 2.1.0 is now available in the Asset Store
     
  8. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    582
    Is there a good place where I can get more Image Modifiers? I love how you implemented them in Landscape Builder. I feel like you can never have too many of those. :)
     
  9. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    1. Create new landscape 4000x4000, terrain width 4000 (single terrain)
    2. Go to http://opentopo.sdsc.edu/lidar?format=sd
    3. Global Data, Shuttle Radar Topography Mission (SRTM GL1) Global 30m
    4. Select the square area
    5. Select GeoTIFF
    6. Give it a job title and your email address. Submit
    7. Download rasters_srtm.tar.gz
    8. Open the .gz file and then the rasters_srtm.tar file inside the .gz file.
    9. Inside the .tar file is the .tif file you want. Extract it to somewhere out the LB project.
    10. Rename the output_srtm.tif file. E.g. yorkshiredales_Swaledale_30m_18km.tif
    11. In LB, on Topography tab, click "TIFF" and select the TIF file just extracted and renamed
    12. Click "Normalise Input"
    13. Generate Heightmap
    14. Add some Smoothing (start with 2 Iterations and a Pixel Range of 3)
    15. Generate Heightmap
    16. Adjust the Height Scale (say 0.25) and test "Generate Heightmap"
    17. Export RAW
    18. The RAW file is saved under Heightmaps\[landscape name] project folder
    19. In LB, rename LandscapeTerrain0000 file to modifier name. E.g. YorkshireDalesSwaledale
    20. In LB, drag the file into the correct Modifier folder. E.g. Modifiers\Hills
    21. To test modifier.
     
    eaque, StevenPicard and dsilverthorn like this.
  10. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    You can also create a "base" layer directly with a (Geo)TIFF file. Then add other perlin, image, image modifier, and/or map path layers after that.

     
    eaque, StevenPicard and dsilverthorn like this.
  11. StevenPicard

    StevenPicard

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    582
    Thanks for taking the time to go through all of those steps. Your support is top notch!
     
    eaque, dsilverthorn and sstrong like this.
  12. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    New Object Path Surface Features

    Coming in the next release (v2.1.1) are some new Groups Object Path Surface features which will help you build different styles of bridges and flyovers.

    You will be able to add a procedurally generated base mesh to paths in all types of Groups (Uniform, Manual Clearings, and Procedurally placed Clearings). An example might be a solid concrete bridge or flyover. Then you could add extra items like supports, or railings using your own prefabs and have LB automatically adjust their spacing using the rules you provide.

    upload_2019-3-8_19-56-41.png

    Beta Program members can download the latest beta (2.1.1 Beta 1i) to test out this new feature (you'll need at least the release version of LB 2.1.0 before you apply this latest update).
     
  13. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
  14. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Coming in LB 2.1.2

    LB Manager - for backing up and finalising landscapes before game release
    Shared Object Path Series
    LB Path Importer - stronger integration with EasyRoads3D and Group Object Paths
    Support for Unity 2019.1

    If you have anything else you'd like us to consider for this release, please let us know.
     
  15. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2019
    docsavage and dsilverthorn like this.
  16. 250951450

    250951450

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    b

    upload_2019-4-10_18-28-24.png

    I installed Mega Splat. According to Landscape Builder 2.1.1 tutorial, Mega Splat can't work. After I deleted Mega Splat, I reported this error. I deleted LB again, reinstalled LB or continued to report error, Mega Splat broke my. Project, request to help me solve the problem as soon as possible.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    When you install MegaSplat it creates a #define called "__MEGASPLAT__". That needs to be removed from your project.
    You will see it in the Project Player settings under Scripting Define Symbols.

    The reason this occurs, is that when an application is uninstalled, it doesn't get the opportunity to remove the #define symbols it created at install time. This is pretty normal.

    When testing major changes to your project, you should always take a backup first.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  18. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Landscape Builder 2.1.2 Release

    This release includes the following:

    [NEW] Groups - Multiple Object Paths can share the same Object Series' configuration
    [NEW] LB Manager - finalise landscapes (Experimental)
    [NEW] LB Path Importer - create Group Object Paths from an external source e.g. EasyRoads3D
    [FIXED] Template Editor - scene is not marked dirty when landscape is created from a template
    [FIXED] Topography Layers - Custom Image Modifier layers lose their data source
    [FIXED] Groups - Save and Exit Positions context menu does not unlock terrains
    [IMPROVED] GPU Acceleration (Path) is out of Technical Preview
    [IMPROVED] Groups - Object Path Width-based Series is out of Technical Preview
    [IMPROVED] Groups - Object Path with Width is out of Technical Preview
    [IMPROVED] Integration with EasyRoads3D v3.1.6
    [IMPROVED] Topography Layers - optional descriptive names
    [IMPROVED] Terrain Settings - option to create terrain data files in the project folder
    [IMPROVED] Support for 2019.1

    It will shortly be available in the Asset Store or Beta Program members can download it immediately.
     
  19. dl290485

    dl290485

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    I'm having a noob problem with generated trees and them having no collider.

    I'm using the Trees tool to generate in trees and have selected a regular prefab. It's from a low poly pack and is not actually a specially made tree. Looks like one (well, a cactus anyway) but it doesn't do billboard or LOD or anything, it's just a mesh.
    So my problem is that, although I checked the 'Trees Have Colliders' option, they don't actually have one at run time. The prefab has a mesh collider in it and when I place it down normally then it works, but the generated trees don't collide.

    What can I do about this?
     
  20. dl290485

    dl290485

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    Another question:

    How do you make a grass and tree exclusion zone? I'm hand placing a town (not using the mesh or group tool) and need no grass in the area.
     
  21. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    To make an exclusion zone when not using the Group system (which we recommend BTW for towns), you can use a Stencil. These are added to a landscape from the Landscape Tab. You can have 1 or more layers. Then apply the Stencil as a FILTER on the grass and/or trees tab.
     
  22. Dave_2000

    Dave_2000

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Mesh colliders don't work for trees on unity terrains (this is a Unity problem, not a Landscape Builder problem). Generally the idea is to use a capsule collider for the trunk and a box/sphere collider/s for the leaves (if you need a collider for the leaves - often you won't). If you really need to use a mesh collider, you can use the groups system in Landscape Builder instead to place the trees (just add the prefab as a part of a uniform group and set the options as you usually would in the trees tab). But generally you shouldn't use mesh colliders anyway if at all possible in a game as they are much more expensive to calculate than the so-called primitive colliders (box, sphere and capsule colliders).
     
  23. dl290485

    dl290485

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    94
    Ok thanks for the info.

    Yeah it's cactus, so all trunk. Just trying to avoid a situation where a player expects to shoot between the branches and just hits a big ol box. I guess I'll go make up a better approximation of their shape with several shape colliders combined.

    As for the other question; You suggested I do use the group system. My initial thoughts against that is not getting to choose where the towns will be. However, since you do think it's the right way to go, I'm guessing I can also stencil them in and out of areas too?
     
  24. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,065
    Yes, you can use stencils for procedural clearings. However, you can also do Manual Clearings and place the towns exactly where you want them. Add as few or as many as you need.