Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

Jumping with Character Controller Component

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by mgrekt, Aug 3, 2020.

  1. mgrekt

    mgrekt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    Posts:
    92
    As easy it may sound, how does jumping even work for Character Controller component? I took a look at the documentation and it shows how, but doesn't make much sense. Can someone explain it?
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    39,369
    From this documentation: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/CharacterController.html

    I don't think the CharacterController does anything related to jump except detect you are on the ground. I haven't used the CC much since it doesn't really seem to provide much value beyond what you can do by making your own simple character controller. There's quite a few tutorials on making your own CC if you're curious, and then you can know exactly how it works. Otherwise the CC is a black box to all of us.

    EDIT: I wrote about this in the future: the Unity example code in the API no longer jumps reliably. I have reported it. Here is a work-around:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/how...racter-movement-in-unity.981939/#post-6379746
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2021
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  3. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    39,369
  4. mgrekt

    mgrekt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    Posts:
    92
    I couldn't find this to include in my post, but I was talking about this. I don't really get what it's actually doing when you press the identified "jump".

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  // Changes the height position of the player..
    2.         if (Input.GetButtonDown("Jump") && groundedPlayer)
    3.         {
    4.             playerVelocity.y += Mathf.Sqrt(jumpHeight * -3.0f * gravityValue);
    5.         }
    6.  
    7.         playerVelocity.y += gravityValue * Time.deltaTime;
    8.         controller.Move(playerVelocity * Time.deltaTime);
    To me it just looks like the player transform in the y-axis would be negative if jumpHeight and gravityvalue is positive when it's pressed.
     
  5. PraetorBlue

    PraetorBlue

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7,947
    Well first, this code doesn't move the transform at all. It changes the player's velocity.

    Second, gravityValue is typically negative. But if it was positive, this code would probably break in a worse way than just moving the player downwards due to trying to take the square root of a negative number. That would probably pollute the velocity vector with float.NaN values.
     
  6. Ultimate_Cooper

    Ultimate_Cooper

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Posts:
    8
    If your looking at creating a First Person game, you could use the assets provided by unity themselfs in the asset store called the standard assets, or you could follow this tutorial which I used:
     
    Kurt-Dekker likes this.
  7. augustcero

    augustcero

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    i'm sorry if my reply is a little outdated but i'm having a hard time wrapping my head around the Vector3 playerVelocity variable. where does it get its values? i've read the code but never really saw the part where it was instantiated or something. how does the playerVelocity.y affect the y-axis of the gameobject?
     
  8. Elegarret

    Elegarret

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Posts:
    18
    Maybe me reply is outdated too, but.. :)
    - playerVelocity sets to 0 in Update() when player is grounded

    here it is:
    controller.Move(playerVelocity * Time.deltaTime);
     
  9. Eldandrey

    Eldandrey

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Why speed increasing when moving diagonally? (Normalizing vector3 in any ways don't work, it breaks moving: player start sliding like on ice)
     
  10. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    39,369
    Please don't necro post.

    If you have a problem, make a new post. Here's how:

    How to report your problem productively in the Unity3D forums:

    http://plbm.com/?p=220

    This is the bare minimum of information to report:

    - what you want
    - what you tried
    - what you expected to happen
    - what actually happened, especially any errors you see
    - links to documentation you used to cross-check your work (CRITICAL!!!)

    Welcome to debugging! Here is how you can get started on your exciting new debugging adventure:

    You must find a way to get the information you need in order to reason about what the problem is.

    Once you understand what the problem is, you may begin to reason about a solution to the problem.

    What is often happening in these cases is one of the following:

    - the code you think is executing is not actually executing at all
    - the code is executing far EARLIER or LATER than you think
    - the code is executing far LESS OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing far MORE OFTEN than you think
    - the code is executing on another GameObject than you think it is
    - you're getting an error or warning and you haven't noticed it in the console window

    To help gain more insight into your problem, I recommend liberally sprinkling
    Debug.Log()
    statements through your code to display information in realtime.

    Doing this should help you answer these types of questions:

    - is this code even running? which parts are running? how often does it run? what order does it run in?
    - what are the values of the variables involved? Are they initialized? Are the values reasonable?
    - are you meeting ALL the requirements to receive callbacks such as triggers / colliders (review the documentation)

    Knowing this information will help you reason about the behavior you are seeing.

    You can also supply a second argument to Debug.Log() and when you click the message, it will highlight the object in scene, such as
    Debug.Log("Problem!",this);


    If your problem would benefit from in-scene or in-game visualization, Debug.DrawRay() or Debug.DrawLine() can help you visualize things like rays (used in raycasting) or distances.

    You can also call Debug.Break() to pause the Editor when certain interesting pieces of code run, and then study the scene manually, looking for all the parts, where they are, what scripts are on them, etc.

    You can also call GameObject.CreatePrimitive() to emplace debug-marker-ish objects in the scene at runtime.

    You could also just display various important quantities in UI Text elements to watch them change as you play the game.

    If you are running a mobile device you can also view the console output. Google for how on your particular mobile target, such as this answer or iOS: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-ios.529920/ or this answer for Android: https://forum.unity.com/threads/how-to-capturing-device-logs-on-android.528680/

    If you are working in VR, it might be useful to make your on onscreen log output, or integrate one from the asset store, so you can see what is happening as you operate your software.

    Another useful approach is to temporarily strip out everything besides what is necessary to prove your issue. This can simplify and isolate compounding effects of other items in your scene or prefab.

    Here's an example of putting in a laser-focused Debug.Log() and how that can save you a TON of time wallowing around speculating what might be going wrong:

    https://forum.unity.com/threads/coroutine-missing-hint-and-error.1103197/#post-7100494

    When in doubt, print it out!(tm)

    Note: the
    print()
    function is an alias for Debug.Log() provided by the MonoBehaviour class.
     
  11. jesuspxp

    jesuspxp

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2022
    Posts:
    2

    You need to normalize the player input, and then use that new, normalized vector for the Controller.move
    Here is what I have:

    PlayerInput = new Vector3
    {
    x = Input.GetAxisRaw("Horizontal"),
    y = 0f,
    z = Input.GetAxisRaw("Vertical")
    };

    if(PlayerInput.magnitude > 1f)
    {
    PlayerInput.Normalize();
    }

    Vector3 MoveVector = transform.TransformDirection(PlayerInput);

    float CurrentSpeed = Input.GetKey(KeyCode.LeftShift) ? WalkSpeed : RunSpeed;

    CurrentMoveVelocity = Vector3.SmoothDamp(CurrentMoveVelocity, MoveVector * CurrentSpeed, ref MoveDampVelocity, MoveSmoothTime);

    Controller.Move(CurrentMoveVelocity * Time.deltaTime);

    Basically, you first make a vector3 with the player input, and then you normalize it. After that, you make a new vector that you will use later for the Controller.move().

    Sorry if it looks messed up, I didnt know how to upload the script