Search Unity

Is MLAPI the best choice?

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by Arcalise, Sep 29, 2020.

1. Arcalise

Arcalise

Hey guys! I'm quite new to unity networking. I just had a quick question if anyone has any knowledge to drop me i would greatly appreciate it!

So i'm creating a multiplayer action type game. My preferred network solution for unity has long been photon. But ive decided to check in on other solutions(especially free ones) MLAPI seems to be a good choice. But i'm a little perplexed on its use.

I'm wanting to create dedicated servers that players can connect to, search for matches and play games on. I dont want end users to interact with the servers directly(Like hosting them their selves). I want only for them to hit play and it does the rest. Is MLAPI capable of such a thing?

I've been back and forth on it, but it seems like MLAPI was created with the thought that the players do the hosting. Maybe I'm wrong on that. But using a dedicated server that is inside unity for hosting seems like it would scale very poorly.

2. Vincenzo

Vincenzo

From the sound of it, what you need is Photon Bolt, it does exactly that, make matches, connect players together over relays. Give it a shot, the demo is free.

3. Arcalise

Arcalise

Yes, Bolt was what i was initially looking at. But i'm very wary of their pricing model. Plus a lot of the CCU info they provide seems inaccurate. Such as the free plan of 20 ccu is enough for 8k mau. That makes absolutely no sense to me. It seems like, with 8k userbase(even if 80% is repeat users) you'd be hitting a 20 ccu limit daily.

You see a game like FallGuys who probably never thought their game would become so big, And so they went with photon. Now they have 80k daily ccus and i dont even want to know what kinda bill their looking at for that. To me it seems worth it to invest the time and effort into a better solution upfront.