Search Unity

Question IronSource: Account verification denied. "Your app doesn't match our current focus".

Discussion in 'Unity Ads & User Acquisition' started by de_CLAS_Softworks, Apr 12, 2023.

1. de_CLAS_Softworks

de_CLAS_Softworks

I've been looking into upgrading the mediation adapter. Now that you have teamed up with IronSource, I have a story to share.

I'm a solo developer and last year I worked with IronSource, I spent a lot of time getting their ad network set up, when I went to verify my account I gave them the link to my app. They refused to verify my account with this message "Following careful review, we found that your app doesn't match our current focus. Therefore, your account was not approved and your app can't go live on the ironSource Network."

Here's the game that didn't meet 'their focus'.

iOS | Android

SuperSonic uses IronSource for their games, so what exactly does 'their focus' actually mean? I asked them for further explanation and my ticket was ignored. So, apparently it's arbitrary and if IronSource denies you an account, it's tough luck.

Is there any guarantee that IronSource won't do this via LevelPlay? I had to switch back to UnityAds (not an easy task), but going forward I'd like to use mediation, but not if IronSource can deny you access after setting it up.

Just to clarify, you only can ask for account verification AFTER you publish your game. So for anyone out there implementing mediation, you should know that it's up to IronSource's whim whether you get on their network or not.

2. gring0ar

gring0ar

It has just happened to me. I still don't understand it. It is the official Unity Ads that is rejecting my app. They don't say why. And they didn't say anything when I bought the license. Now I need to research on the non official ways to show ads to be able to start my business, while with the previous framework there wasn't any problem and it was way easier to integrate. Well done.

Last edited: Apr 25, 2023
  3. stnkdevs