Search Unity

Official Introducing the DOTS Best Practices guide (0.16, 0.17)

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by SteveM_Unity, Feb 9, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SteveM_Unity

SteveM_Unity

Unity Technologies

My name’s Steve. I’m a Senior Developer Relations Engineer in Unity’s Professional Services team. This means that I work with a lot of different Unity customers, and a big part of my job involves seeing how Unity is used in “real world” projects and digging into the performance implications of those use-cases.

Over the past two years, I have worked with a number of customers who were building DOTS projects, and saw some of these projects experience poor performance in comparison to what we know DOTS is capable of. One common thread was for developers to have difficulty stepping outside of the object-oriented mindset and truly understanding what data-oriented design is, what it’s trying to achieve, and why. Several problems arose from focusing on designing around the interactions between systems instead of focusing on designing the data itself. Several other problems arose from the performance characteristics of certain DOTS features such as structural changes not being well-understood or documented in sufficient detail.

Part of my job is helping customers overcome these sorts of performance challenges. Another part of my job is to find ways to disseminate what I learn during those engagements to help a wider range of Unity users be successful themselves. Our team regularly give talks on optimization at Unite conferences, and we write technical blog posts and Best Practice Guides. The teams I worked with who were finding it difficult to get the performance they needed from DOTS were comprised of very smart people who I felt just hadn’t stumbled across the right documentation to help them. They needed DOTS Best Practices guide. So I wrote one.

You can find it here: