Search Unity

1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

I was intending to use Boo, but the lack of tutorials is annoying.

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by TotalAlone, Dec 10, 2013.

1. TotalAlone

TotalAlone

Hi!

I learned the fundementals of Python and while i enjoy that language i wanna do something in Unity. While Python isen't a accepted language that Unity are using, i heard that Boo was very close to Python. Great i thought. Well, the lack of tutorials and examples really makes it hard for me to start scripting as im new to Unity and all that.

The question is:

Do i move to C# or do i stay at Boo?

If it's best to move to C#, then can you recommend any free good tutorials? Thank you in advance.

(Sorry for any misspellings there might come.)

2. GarthSmith

GarthSmith

I've never heard of Boo being used anywhere else. I suggest C# if you understand Object Oriented Programming. I very much like C#, enough to say it's my favorite programming language. UnityScript's syntax is very much like JavaScript so that is very popular too. The fact those languages are used a lot outside of Unity means there is a lot more documentation using those languages than Boo.

I don't know much about tutorials. My first Unity program literally just rotated a cube around. Then I moved on to Breakout which I think is a very good practice program to learn Unity. Tic Tac Toe is a good practice game to make too.

You might also want to check out Microsoft's C# tutorials, just use Debug.Log instead of System.Console.WriteLine. You can also check out Complete Projects in the Unity Asset store to see how other people do stuff in Unity.

3. Meltdown

Meltdown

C#