Search Unity

1. If you have experience with import & exporting custom (.unitypackage) packages, please help complete a survey (open until May 15, 2024).
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

How to get Collider for Physics.IgnoreCollision?

Discussion in 'Physics' started by bovicafize, Feb 13, 2019.

1. bovicafize

bovicafize

Hi, I'm new to Unity but just inherited a Unity project, apologies if this is a dumb question, I couldn't find the specific answer in the forums already.

I'm trying to solve the pretty common problem of having a bullet ignore collisions with the gun it was shot from. The existing "solution" in this project is to do string compares in OnCollisionEnter on the names of the objects.

I could solve this by putting the guns and bullets on different collision layers that don't collide, but we also plan on supporting detecting when bullets legitimately hit guns. Collision layers are great, but they aren't a scalable solution to this specific problem. (and the existing string compare solution also fails at this in addition to being inefficient).

The consensus on forums seems to be to use Physics.IgnoreCollison and pass the colliders of the bullet and the weapon that fired it. However, GetComponent<Collider> always returns null on both the bullet and weapon. I have tried calling GetComponent<Collider> both from where Instantiate is called to create the bullet and also from the Start method on the MonoBehavior attached to the bullet. It's always null.

Note that OnCollisionEnter *is* getting called with the correct objects, and at that point the Collision parameter has a valid Collider. I just want to know how to get ahold of the Collider before OnCollisionEnter gets called.