Search Unity

Question Host is able to call the ServerRpc but Client is not

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by ParagonSe7en, Sep 15, 2022.

1. ParagonSe7en

ParagonSe7en

I'm new to netcode so I may be doing something fundamentally wrong but with the code below I am able to move my player prefab as the host but not as the client. The client will hit a breakpoint on the FixedUpdate() function where the call to "MoveServerRpc();" is made but it will never step into that function for some reason.

The player prefab this script is on contains these components (Transform, Sprite Renderer, RigidBody, Player Input (new input system), Capsule Collider, NetworkObject, NetworkTransform, and a Network Rigidbody).

Also the client can see the host move so I know it is getting information from the server but for some reason it won't step into that MoveServerRpc function to send the information to the server. Any ideas?

Code (CSharp):
    1. using Unity.Netcode;
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3. using UnityEngine.InputSystem;
    5. public class MovementScript : NetworkBehaviour
    6. {
    7.   [SerializeField]
    8.   Rigidbody rb;
    10.   public float speed;
    11.   public float leftStick_X;
    12.   public float leftStick_Y;
    13.   public NetworkVariable<Vector3> Position = new NetworkVariable<Vector3>();
    15.   void Start()
    16.   {
    17.     rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody>();
    18.     if (IsLocalPlayer)
    19.     {
    20.       gameObject.GetComponentInChildren<Camera>().enabled = true;
    21.     }
    22.     else
    23.     {
    24.       gameObject.GetComponentInChildren<Camera>().enabled = false;
    25.     }
    26.   }
    27.   void FixedUpdate()
    28.   {
    29.     if (IsServer)
    30.     {
    31.       Position.Value = transform.position;
    32.     }
    33.     if (IsLocalPlayer)
    34.     {
    35.       MoveServerRpc();
    36.     }
    37.     transform.position = Position.Value;
    38.   }