Search Unity

Having Trouble Discerning Ownership of Scripts when using ScriptName.instance.

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by akauper, Jun 16, 2013.

1. akauper

akauper

Hello and thank you for any help in advance.

For the last few months I've been creating a 3rd person RPG arena-combat game (think WoW Arena).
    I've completed enough for two players to play against each other and now I'm trying to tackle networking. I'm fairly new to the subject but I've watched 4 or 5 tutorials and I think I have the basic concepts down.

However, when using certain commands to talk between scripts I'm running into trouble.

Below I will attempt to demonstrate my problem as thoroughly as possible. If anything isn't clear please let me know.

I've initialized a server and connected to the server as a client.

I've gotten basic movement to send from client to server and vice-versa using RPC calls. For example,

Script Name: PlayerController
    Code (csharp):
    2. public class PlayerController extends MonoBehaviour {
    4. static var instance: PlayerController;
    6. function Awake () {
    7.       instance = this;
    9.       if(!networkView.isMine)
    10.       {
    11.             enabled=false;
    12.       }
    13. }
    15. function Update()
    16. {
    17.     if(networkView.isMine)
    18.     {
    19.         characterController.Move(playerDirWorld * Time.deltaTime);
    20.         transform.Rotate(rotation);
    22.         if(Vector3.Distance(transform.position, lastPosition)>=0.05)
    23.         {
    24.             lastPosition=transform.position;
    26.             networkView.RPC("SetPosition", RPCMode.Others, transform.position);
    27.         }
    28.         networkView.RPC("SetRotation", RPCMode.Others, transform.rotation);
    29.     }
    30. }
    32. @RPC function SetPosition(newPos : Vector3)
    33. {
    34.     transform.position=newPos;
    35. }
    36. @RPC function SetRotation(newRot : Quaternion)
    37. {