Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

Feature request : Updating Unity Hub should not remove it from being pinned

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by DoctorShinobi, Oct 27, 2018.

  1. DoctorShinobi

    DoctorShinobi

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Posts:
    129
    Hey! I'd like to request a feature.
    On Windows, I like to pin programs that I use often to the start bar. This makes sure I can see their icon even when the programs themselves are not open. But there is a problem with Unity Hub that whenever I let UH upgrade itself, it gets removed from being pinned in the start bar. I assume that's because the update removes the old UH and installs a new one instead, thus it is considered as a new program.
    Is it something that could be fixed in future releases of Unity Hub?
     
    SugoiDev likes this.
  2. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    Yeah, that's pretty annoying. The first few times I thought I hadn't pinned it at all, or maybe that Windows was acting up.
     
  3. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,534
    Wonder if this is related to the Windows version or something. This didn't happen for me on Windows 10 for last update from 1.1.0 to 1.2.0, Unity Hub kept being pinned after the update.
     
  4. DanielTG

    DanielTG

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    Posts:
    105
    Hi all,

    Can you please clarify if you mean the Start Menu or the Task Bar in Windows 10?
    (screenshot or verbal description will do thanks)

    We have a few of this related features for better native OS behaviour in our backlog so it would be good to highlight all of these inconvenient/annoying scenarios.

    Thanks
    Daniel
     
  5. SugoiDev

    SugoiDev

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2013
    Posts:
    320
    @DanielTG In my case, it's the taskbar icon that was being unpinned. I don't use the Start Menu, so I can't comment on that.
     
  6. DoctorShinobi

    DoctorShinobi

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Posts:
    129
    Sorry about that. I meant the Taskbar. That one horizontal line at the bottom of the screen that shows your open programs and is adjacent to the Start Menu.
     
  7. Deozaan

    Deozaan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Posts:
    660
    I have it pinned to the task bar and I'm pretty sure the pin survives Hub updates for me. Hmm...
     
  8. DoctorShinobi

    DoctorShinobi

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Posts:
    129
    Weird, so it's inconsistent? It happens to me on Windows 10 Home, using English language and pretty up to date. It occurs on both my Laptop, home PC and work PC.
     
  9. rz_0lento

    rz_0lento

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,534
    Like mentioned before, it keeps itself pinned for me too.

    You update the Hub manually or let it update itself?

    Wonder if it matters how you pin it or does it create similar shortcut anyway? I've always just had the program running and right clicked the icon on taskbar to pin it. No idea if dragging a shortcut will pin the shortcut instead of the program (as that could generate issues like this if the original shortcut goes away)
     
  10. DoctorShinobi

    DoctorShinobi

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Posts:
    129
    I update it from within the Hub itself. And I also pin it by running it, right clicking it's Task Bar icon and then selecting "Pin to taskbar"
     
  11. Wolfram

    Wolfram

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Many people still have this problem, there are several threads about this already.
    Using Windows 10 Home, set to English.
    Using Unity Hub since before the official 1.0 release.
    The pinned taskbar icon gets removed after EVERY update. I always update from within Unity Hub.
    It is admittedly a minor problem - but that makes it all the more annoying. :-(
     
  12. laeusnb

    laeusnb

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2014
    Posts:
    74
    This is still happening. I've filed a bug, but they asked me to attach a project. Sigh :).
     
  13. Wolfram

    Wolfram

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Posts:
    174
    Well, there was a SLIGHT improvement recently: The Hub now shows up in the notification bar and stays there - but only AFTER you started it at least once manually, it's gone again after each reboot...
    So it really doesn't change anything.

    lol -.-
     
  14. nsxdavid

    nsxdavid

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Posts:
    397
    Yup, major annoying.
     
  15. AbrahamDUnity

    AbrahamDUnity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2017
    Posts:
    408
    Hi there,

    We're sorry about this. We haven't investigated the issue yet but it seems to be related to Windows 10 (see duplicate post). We'll get around to it soon.

    Cheers,
     
    laeusnb likes this.
unityunity