Search Unity

Fatal Error : Failed to initialize unity graphics

Discussion in 'Linux' started by PalmCivetMenace, May 14, 2018.

1. PalmCivetMenace

PalmCivetMenace

Hi,
    I am new to ubuntu.
    I just installed ubuntu and I wanted to install unity.
    Downloaded the unity installer and Installed it.
    But when i try to make a new project I get the following message box :

Fatal Error
    Failed to initialize unity graphics

Please Help,
    Thanks.

Attached Files:

Fox-Craft and ShefSam like this.
  2. Krstn

Krstn

I have the exact same issue, have you been able to fix this?

ShefSam likes this.
  3. mageaster

mageaster

Have you installed appropriate drivers for your graphic card?

4. Krstn

Krstn

It's a VPS, I would think it's already done. Any chance I could check what Unity is looking for?
    Unity starts fine, this happens after I select the project.

Fox-Craft likes this.
  5. mageaster

mageaster

Who would need graphic drivers on SERVER?

Of course, launcher don't need 3D acceleration.

6. Krstn

Krstn

Well if I understand your rhetorics properly, I do.
    Anyway, I have windows setup on the same server and Unity works there fine.

7. Tak

Tak

This probably means that your environment doesn't have sufficient 3d driver support to run Unity.
    If you post an editor log from one of these sessions (~/.config/unity3d/Editor.log or add -logfile /my/custom/log/path to the command line), we can verify.

8. Krstn

Krstn

Code (CSharp):
    2. LX Extensions: GLX_ARB_get_proc_address GLX_ARB_multisample GLX_EXT_import_context GLX_EXT_visual_info GLX_EXT_visual_rating GLX_MESA_multithread_makecurrent GLX_OML_swap_method GLX_SGIS_multisample GLX_SGIX_fbconfig GLX_SGIX_pbuffer GLX_SGI_make_current_read